Fenland Christmas recycling

No Caption ABCDE ENGANL00120130627155353

No Caption ABCDE ENGANL00120130627155353

0
Have your say

Last year, more than 90 per cent of 8,800 tonnes of waste collected through blue bins in Fenland homes was recycled to make new products. That’s the weight of metal in the Eiffel Tower.

However, there remains a mountain of rubbish - more than 1,000 tonnes - that could have been recycled but was needlessly sent to landfill just because it wasn’t put in to blue bins.

Sending waste for treatment and landfill is costly. Per tonne, treating and landfilling green bin waste works out three times more expensive than sorting and recycling the good quality materials from your blue bin.

You can really make a difference – especially over Christmas and New Year when we all create a lot more waste. Glass bottles and jars, cartons, plastic bottles, metal tins and cans, tin foil, aerosol cans, paper, cardboard, plastic tubs, trays and punnets can all be recycled in your blue bin.

If you need clear bags for any extra recycling, these are available in each town at the council’s shops and hubs and can be put out next to your bin.

Your real Christmas tree can be put into, or next to, your brown bin in pieces. These must be cut to less than 5ft long, otherwise they won’t fit in our lorry. They can also be taken to your local household recycling centre.

Remember, too, that there will be some changes to your normal bin collection days over Christmas and the New Year. The revised collection days are shown in bold below. Please make sure that you put your bin out by 7am on the correct day.

NormalRevised

Mon Dec 22 ........................Normal

Tues Dec 23 ........................Normal

Wed Dec 24 .........................Normal

Thurs Dec 25 ..................Sat Dec 27

Fri Dec 26 .....................Mon Dec 29

Mon Dec 29 .................Tues Dec 30

Tues Dec 30 ................Wed Dec 31

Wed Dec 31 ......................Fri Jan 2

Thurs Jan 1 ......................Sat Jan 3

Fri Jan 2 ..........................Mon Jan 5

Mon Jan 5 ......................Tues Jan 6

Tues Jan 6 ......................Wed Jan 7

Wed Jan 7 .....................Thurs Jan 8

Thurs Jan 8 .......................Fri Jan 9

 Fri Jan 9 ..........................Sat Jan 10

n For more information about collection times, what you can put in your bins and what you should do with your Christmas waste, visit www.fenland.gov.uk/waste-and-recycling