Historic results at King’s Lynn school saluted

springwood pres night coutny scholars
springwood pres night coutny scholars
Have your say

A Lynn high school has paid tribute to the pupils who “made Springwood history last summer” with record-breaking exam results.

Headteacher Andy Johnson said at the school’s presentation night that the evening was “one of true celebration”.

He said: “We are here to recognise the fantastic achievement of the 2011-2013 Sixth Form cohort.

“You made Springwood history last summer. Overall, the A-level pass rate was 97 per cent: the highest it has ever been. The A*-C pass rate was 75 per cent: the highest it has ever been. The A*-B pass rate was 52 per cent: the highest it has ever been.

“The statistics speak for themselves: you have a lot to be proud of, and we are delighted to present you with your A-level certificates – the gateway to your future – at this joyful occasion.

“You are an exceptional group of young people: embrace the opportunities that life throws at you, and go and show the world what West Norfolk has to offer.”

Subject awards:

Art – Emily Britton, Biology– Lin Ling Xu, Business – Rebecca Cabot, Chemistry – Matthew Brockwell, Classical Civilisation – Megan Russell, Design Tech – Laura Nurse, Drama Theatre Studies – Ella Bliss, Eng Lit – Fenella Craven, Eng Lang & Lit – Laura Hammond, French – Aleksandra Szczerba, Further Maths – Georgia Sargent, Geography – Megan Roberts, German – Lorna Rand, Health & Social Care – Molly Reed, History – Alex Daddow, Information Tech (Applied) – Guy Williams, Kinetic Theatre – Ella McCready, Maths – Jordan O’Brien, Media – Hannah Pateman.

Music – Ella McCready, The Music Cup – Edmund Hopkins, Music Tech – Harrison Stanford, Performing Arts – Chloe Woolmer, Photography – Katherine Colangelo, Physical Education – Sean McQuaid, Physics – Darion Mayes, Psychology – Alice Lyng, Religious Studies –Louise Ritchie, Robert Galliard Concert Band Cup – Jordan Barrett, Sociology – Lara McComish, Stuart Smith Vocational Cup – Tom Coventry, Techie – Jason Fuller, Travel & Tourism – Katie Smith

Norfolk County Scholars – Jordan Barrett, Matthew Brockwell, Georgie Brown, Megan Bush, Rebecca Cabot, Katharine Colangelo, Fenella Craven, Jason Fuller, Katie Gladman, Jessica Hall, Laura Hammond, Cale Harrison, Elizabeth Irving, Andrew Kitchen, Miles Leake, Darion Mayes, Ella McCready, James Melton, Lewis Murphy, Jordan O’Brien, Akarachi Onyendoro, Hannah Pateman, Olivia Pembery, Claire Russell, Megan Russell, Georgina Sargent, Ross Sheridan, Ashly Simon, Katie Smith, Aleksandra Szczerba, Guy Williams, Louisa Woods, Chloe Woolmer, Lin Ling Xu.

Queen’s Award – Darion Mayes, Henry Smith Scholarship – Claire Russell, Rotary Citizen Award – Kathryn Tuck.

PTA Prize for Endeavour – Samuel North, Hanover Arts Prize – Fergus Pateman