King’s Lynn Stars teenager Robert Lambert handed Great Britain World Cup debut on home track

King's Lynn 'Roger Warnes Transport' Stars ready for the start of the 2014 Elite League season. Robert Lambert ANL-140316-191631002
King's Lynn 'Roger Warnes Transport' Stars ready for the start of the 2014 Elite League season. Robert Lambert ANL-140316-191631002
Have your say

Team Great Britain manager Alun Rossiter has handed a Monster Energy FIM Speedway World Cup debut to King’s Lynn Stars teenage sensation Robert Lambert on his home track.

Lambert joins 2013 world champion Tai Woffinden, Chris Harris and Danny King in the Lions quartet to face Australia, Latvia and the USA in Event 2 at King’s Lynn on June 8.

The starting line-ups for Events 1 and 2 have been confirmed.

The Aussies unsurprisingly track FIM Speedway Grand Prix trio Chris Holder, Troy Batchelor and Jason Doyle, with in-form Swindon and Glasgow star Nick Morris given his competition debut by team manager Mark Lemon.

The United States are led into the event by three-time and defending world champion Greg Hancock. He links up with last year’s FIM Speedway Under-21 World Championship finalist Gino Manzares, Ryan Fisher and Max Ruml.

Latvia complete a stellar field for the Adrian Flux Arena event, with ex-King’s Lynn rider Andzejs Lebedevs, joining former World Under-21 bronze medallist Maksims Bogdanovs, Kasts Puodzuks and Jevgenijs Kostigovs in the team.

Polish team manager Marek Cieslak has put his faith in the nation’s young guns as they take on Sweden, Russia and the Czech Republic in Event 1 at Gniezno on June 6.

The side is skippered by six-time SWC winner Jaroslaw Hampel and he is joined by SGP rival Maciej Janowski, who was part of Poland’s victorious side in Prague two years ago.

They team up with Monster Energy SWC debutants, Przemyslaw Pawlicki and Bartosz Zmarzlik, whose sublime current form in the Polish Ekstraliga for Leszno and Gorzow respectively sees them keep even world No.2 Krzysztof Kasprzak and 2010 world champion Tomasz Gollob out of the side.

Sweden track their SGP stars Andreas Jonsson and Tomas H Jonasson. They team up with the in-form Antonio Lindback, who has enjoyed a sensational start to the season with Indianerna in the Swedish Elitserien. Linus Sundstrom completes the quartet, with no place for Fredrik Lindgren.

Russian hero Emil Sayfutdinov skippers his country into the competition for the first time since 2012. He teams up with former SGP star Artem Laguta, as well as Vitaly Belousov and Vadim Tarasenko.

The Czech challenge is spearheaded by Czech SGP wild card Vaclav Milik, who is enjoying a strong season for Wroclaw in the Polish Ekstraliga. He links up with the promising Eduard Krcmar, Matej Kus and Tomas Suchanek.

The winners of Events 1 and 2 join hosts Denmark in the Monster Energy SWC Final at Vojens on June 13. The second and third-placed teams line up in the Race Off at the legendary Danish venue on June 11, where one more Final spot will be up for grabs to the winner.

Ticket information for all four events can be found at:



POLAND (red) – 1 Jaroslaw Hampel (captain), 2 Przemyslaw Pawlicki, 3 Maciej Janowski, 4 Bartosz Zmarzlik. Team Manager: Marek Cieslak.

SWEDEN (blue) – 1 Antonio Lindback, 2 Andreas Jonsson (captain), 3 Linus Sundstrom, 4 Tomas H Jonasson. Team Manager: Morgan Andersson.

CZECH REPUBLIC (white) – 1 Vaclav Milik (captain), 2 Eduard Krcmar, 3 Tomas Suchanek, 4 Matej Kus. Team Manager: Milan Spinka.

RUSSIA (yellow) – 1 Vadim Tarasenko, 2 Artem Laguta, 3 Emil Sayfutdinov (captain), 4 Vitaly Belousov. Team Manager: Andrei Savin.


GREAT BRITAIN (red) – 1 Chris Harris, 2 Danny King, 3 Tai Woffinden (captain), 4 Robert Lambert. Team Manager: Alun Rossiter.

UNITED STATES (blue) – 1 Greg Hancock (captain), 2 Gino Manzares, 3 Ryan Fisher, 4 Max Ruml. Team Manager: Billy Hamill.

AUSTRALIA (white) – 1 Chris Holder (captain), 2 Nick Morris, 3 Troy Batchelor, 4 Jason Doyle. Team Manager: Mark Lemon.

LATVIA (yellow) – 1 Maksims Bogdanovs, 2 Andzejs Lebedevs, 3 Kasts Puodzuks, 4 Jevgenijs Kostigovs. Team Manager: Vladimirs Ribnikovs.