Five-star King’s Lynn rider Iversen bags Danish title

Sport news from the Lynn News,, @lynnnewssport on Twitter
Sport news from the Lynn News,, @lynnnewssport on Twitter

King’s Lynn Stars number one Niels-Kristian Iversen has become the first rider in 43 years to win five straight Danish Championship crowns after triumphing in Holsted on Friday.

Iversen – who recovered from a nasty fall riding for Lynn just 24 hours earlier – made it into the final having scored 12 points in the heats, with former SGP star and Lynn rider Kenneth Bjerre topping the scorechart on 13 and seven-time winner Nicki Pedersen, another former Star, qualifying on 11 points.

With the heat scores added to the riders’ points from the final, history-maker Iversen saw off Pedersen on his home track to win the meeting on 15, with Bjerre securing the silver medal overall, despite finishing third in the decider.

Having had an up-and-down start to 2016, Iversen could not have picked a better moment to roar into top form as he became only the second rider in history to win five titles in a row, and the first since Ole Olsen’s sensational seven between 1967 and 1973.

He will now go to Horsens on June 11, determined to storm into the World Championship’s top eight with victory in the Kjærgaard Danish FIM Speedway Grand Prix.

Despite finishing second in the final ahead of Bjerre, Pedersen had to make do with third overall, with the Esbjerg-born man ending on 14 and the triple world champion recording 13.

Bjerre’s younger brother Lasse, also an ex-Star, also produced a superb performance to secure sixth on nine points, while Hans Andersen and Rasmus Jensen recorded eight apiece.

Points (top six): 1 Niels-Kristian Iversen 15, 2 Kenneth Bjerre 14, 3 Nicki Pedersen 13, 4 Nicolai Klindt 10, 5 Bjarne Pedersen 10, 6 Lasse Bjerre 9.