King’s Lynn Stars change team around for Lakeside home clash

Speedway news from the Lynn News,, @lynnnewssport on Twitter
Speedway news from the Lynn News,, @lynnnewssport on Twitter
Have your say

Thursday night (June 25, 7.30pm), sees the King’s Lynn Roger Warnes Transport Stars host Lakeside at the Adrian Flux Arena, and after last week’s defeat to the Hammers, nothing less than a win will do.

The Stars return to Saddlebow Road almost a month after their last home fixture due to the World Cup break, and boss Rob Lyon has changed his team around for the meeting with new signing Vaclav Milik set to make his debut.

It will the first time this season that the top five will be in a different order as Lyon attempts to get his side back to winning ways. Stars number one and captain Niels-Kristian Iversen is the only rider to keep his position. Lyon has switched Nicklas Porsing to the number two position in the team with Robert Lambert moving to number four.

Heat leader Kenneth Bjerre vacates the number five position for Milik and will race at number three instead, while reserve pairing Ashley Morris and Lewis Kerr remain unchanged.

Explaining his change, Lyon said: “I have decided to move the team line up around for this match and freshen things up to see how best we accommodate our new signing. Hopefully the move will work out well for us and we can get our season back on track once again.”

The visiting Hammers have been forced into two changes for the meeting. Rider replacement will be used for Kim Nilsson (Swedish fixture) and at reserve, Carl Wilkinson replaces Ashley Birks (Sheffield fixture).

Gates will open at 6pm on Thursday with the parade taking place at 7.30pm.

Lynn Stars: 1 Niels-Kristian Iversen, 2 Nicklas Porsing, 3 Kenneth Bjerre, 4 Robert Lambert, 5 Vaclav Milik, 6 Ashley Morris, 7 Lewis Kerr.

Lakeside Hammers: 1 Andreas Jonsson, 2 Mikkel Bech, 3 Edward Kennett, 4 Richard Lawson, 5 Kim Nilsson R/R, 6 Adam Ellis, 7 Carl Wilkinson (G).