Ryston dominate the fifth event of Grand Prix series

UGC pic for LN Sport
UGC pic for LN Sport
Have your say

From the Arctic conditions of last month to the spring-like weather of this month, Ryston Runners’ popular winter cross country Grand Prix series attracted more than 200 competitors to the fifth event in this series.

Ryston dominated the various categories with wins in all bar two of the events, and many impressive personal performances.

The senior women’s event was won by Jan Currey, who came home more than three minutes clear of the next placed runner in her category.

Caroline Wakefield, Lesley Robins and Pauline Drewery cleaned up in the W35s, with Karen Smith, Mel Watts, and Jo Brooks in fourth, seventh and ninth respectively.

Sarah Taylor and Maureen Wolfe took second and third in the W45 category, with Karen Wood fourth, Wendy Fisher sixth and Sue Smith seventh. Jane Ashby was placed first in the W55 race.

Ryston members filled the first four spots in the men’s race with Robert Simmonds dominating the field and finishing a minute clear of second-placed Che Plant, separating him from his brother, Andrew Simmonds, in third.

Fourth overall was Malcolm Tuff, placed first in the M45s by two minutes.

Team mate Martin Ive was placed third, enjoying a great run after a long lay-off due to illness.

Other Ryston men enjoying success were Nic Bensley (M40), Carl Manning (M50) and Kevin Howlett (M55).

The rest of the Ryston results in the men’s race were:

Senior: 5th Marcus Hawkins; 8th Matt Wortley; 9th Michael Howlett; 11th Ben Poole; 12th Ian Milburn; 14th Craig Witting; 15th Mark Doughty.

M40: 5th Simon Able; 7th Martin Sheldrick; 10th Will Honeybone.

M45: 5th Stewart Robins; 6th Steve Bowerman; 10th David Lane; 12th Andy Harrod.

M50: 3rd Kevin Taylor.

M55: 3rd Paul Firmage; 4th Phillip Seaman; 5th Stephen Mickleburgh; 6th Christopher Milnes; 7th John Plowright.

M60: 7th Jeff Reed; 10th Mick Ennis; 11th Peter Whitley.

Meanwhile, the few Ryston juniors who took part made their presence felt, with wins for Anna Wood (U9G) and Charlie Wakefield ( U11B), second places for Kit and Thea Howlett ( U9B and U11G) and Charlotte Smith (U17G), and a third for Harry Wakefield (U9B).

Mia Moore was fourth in the U9G race, and Sarah Rayner 15th.

Ben Smith, 7, was 30th in the U9B race.