Sport - Athletics: Athletes celebrate fine season

UFC picture for Lynn News
UFC picture for Lynn News
Have your say

West Norfolk Athletic Club celebrated another hugely-successful season on the track at their home base of Lynnsport recently.

Athletes from the club gathered for their annual general meeting, along with prize and presentation awards.

Two time ex-Olympic athlete Paul Evans gave an inspiring speech, reflecting on his experiences and presented the awards, 

There were also speeches from club chairman Wally Oliver, coaches and team managers. 

If you are thinking of getting into athletics, feel free to join West Norfolk AC at their club nights in the Lynnsport Barn, from 7pm, on Thursdays.

Club Awards 2012

Most Improved: Abigail Rice.

Best First Year: Leigh Robertson.

Murray Cup (best one-off performance): Lucy Koenigsberger.

Best Field performance: Megan Rushmore.

Cross Country: Leigh Robertson.

Road Running: Imogen Walker.

Ian Dye Memorial (dedication to athletics): Ben Collison.

Richard Redhead Memorial (effort and determination): Alysha Cain.

Club Woman: Gemma Galvin.

Club Man: Tim Coates.

Best Veteran: Ian Reeve.

Best Overall: Marham ten-mile team.

Christine Moss Memorial: Olivia Delph.

Managers’ Trophies

Southern Athletics League: Megan Rushmore.

East Anglia League: James Greenhalgh and Hannah Greenhalgh.

Eastern Veterans: Ian Reeve and Katrina Wasteney.

Eastern Young Athletics League: Craig Brooks.

Sportshall: Ryan Coates and Lucy Edwards.

Club Championships

Under 11  Boys: 1 Harry Basset, 2 Sam Stonebridge, 3 Toby Edwards.

Under 11Girls: 1 Lucy Koenigsberger, 2 Olivia Delph, 3 Kate Willis.

Under 13  Boys: 1 Daniel Harvey, 2 Adam White, 3 Alfie Bobbins.  

Under 13  Girls: 1 Emma Dewdney, 2 Hannah Greenhalgh, 3 Michaela Raine Guest.

Under 15 Boys: 1 James Greenhalgh, 2 Ryan Coates, 3 Leigh Robertson.

Under 15 Girls: 1 Lucy Edwards, 2 Lauren Davis, 3 Aylisha Cain. 

Under 17 Men: 1 Craig Brooks, 2 Matthew Bailey, 3 Jordan Harry.

Under 17 Ladies: 1 Amy Newell, 2 Emilie West, 3 Lucy Newell.

Under 20 Ladies, 1 Emma Tilbrook, 2nd Rebecca Vincent.

Senior Men: 1 Rory Brown, 2 Luke Foster, 3 Ben Collison.

Veteran Men: 1 Robert Vincent; Veteran Ladies: 1 Nicky Neill, 2 Sally Edwards, 3 Katrina Wasteney.