There are few days left to visit the King’s Lynn On The Map exhibition, which looks at the town’s story using maps, at Lynn Museum before it finishes next Saturday, January 25
The displays uses maps from the museum collections together with photographs, watercolours and a selection of objects not normally on display including a mammoth tusk, historic doll’s house, objects from the 1960s and Victorian surveying instruments on loan from the Ordnance Survey.
It features a detailed doll’s house (pictured above)from the museum collection dating from 1740. This is a scale model of number 27 King Street and was recently displayed in a major doll’s house exhibition at The Hague in the Netherlands.
Also on display are examples of maps dating from the 18th and 19th centuries together with a drawn copy of the earliest map showing Lynn dating to 1588.
The exhibition includes aerial photographs of Lynn which show the town before the redevelopment of the centre in the 1960s and early 1970s. Maps and aerial photographs were used to create the town model on display representing the town at the time.
Aerial photographs were also used to create the Discover King’s Lynn map used today to encourage visitors to come to Lynn and enjoy the town’s attractions.
A section of the display uses a geological map to tell the story of the area thousands of years ago when mammoths roamed East Anglia. A mammoth tusk from the museum collection will be shown together with other prehistoric specimens.