145 candidates battle to win votes in poll

General Election 2015 ANL-151004-145625001
General Election 2015 ANL-151004-145625001
Have your say

A total of 145 candidates have been put forward to stand in next month’s West Norfolk Council elections, according to the list of nominations published on Thursday.

However, four of the authority’s 42 wards – Hilgay with Denver, St Lawrence, Walton and Wimbotsham and Fincham – will not be contested as only one candidate was nominated in each of those areas.

Labour Event launch for Jo Rust ANL-151204-174437009

Labour Event launch for Jo Rust ANL-151204-174437009

That means the current borough mayor Barry Ayres, along with fellow Conservatives Tony White, Roy Groom and Sandra Squire, will all be elected unopposed.

Of the current 62 councillors, 13 are not seeking re-election this time around, including three former borough mayors, Conservative Zipha Christopher and UKIP’s Michael Langwade and Michael Pitcher.

Others who are not standing include Tories Peter Cousins, Tom de Winton, Anthony Lovett, Trevor Manley and Anthony Wright, Labour’s Mark Back, David Collis and Laurence Scott, Liberal Democrat John Loveless and UKIP’s Stephanie Smeaton.

However, the other Liberal Democrat on the current council, Tony Bubb, will be contesting his Dersingham seat for the Conservatives.

Other notable nominations include former borough council leader John Dobson, who is standing in North Lynn for the Conservatives and Clifford Walters, who is trying to win a seat in the Springwood ward for UKIP, four years after losing his seat, when he was standing as a Tory.

The full list of candidates is as follows. Wards have one seat, except where stated:

Airfield (two seats) – Bernadette Barclay (Green), Sam Cooper, (UKIP), Geoffrey Hipperson (Con), Michael Howland (Con), Tom Scott (UKIP)

Brancaster – Bob Lawton (Ind), Liz Watson (Con)

Burnham – Sam Sandell (Con), Simon Wilson (Lib Dem)

Clenchwarton – Alexandra Kemp (Ind), David Whitby (Con)

Denton (three seats) – Philip Davies (Lab), Tom Edwards (UKIP), Adrian Lawrence (Con), Mick Peake (Con), Sebastian Polhill (Lab), Tom Ryves (Lab), Martin Storey (Con)

Dersingham (two seats) – Tony Bubb (Con), Judy Collingham (Con), Erika Coward (Lib Dem), Richard Coward (Lib Dem), John Houston (UKIP)

Docking – Andrew Morrison (Con), Jeremy Wilson (Lab)

Downham East – Heather Fouracre (Lab), Jackie Westrop (Con)

Downham North – Eamonn McCusker (Green), Jonathan Toye (Lab), Geoffrey Wareham (Con)

Downham Old Town – Conrad Brown (UKIP), John Doyle (Ind), Sam Gipson (Lab), Kathy Mellish (Con)

Downham South – Mike Larcey (Lab), Ira Rose (UKIP), Don Tyler (Con)

Emneth with Outwell (two seats) – Chris Crofts (Con), Harry Humphrey (Cons), Tony Jackson (UKIP).

Fairstead (two seats) – Ian Gourlay (Lab), Ron Mortimer (Con), Jim Perkins (UKIP), Margaret Wilkinson (Lab), Jonathan Williamson (Con)

Gayton – Alistair Beales (Con), David Costin (UKIP), Nigel Walker (Green)

Gaywood Chase (two seats) – John Collop (Lab), Sandra Collop (Lab), Ivan Goodson (Con), Michael Stone (UKIP), Christopher Wherrell (Con)

Gaywood North Bank (three seats) – Elizabeth Barclay (UKIP), Jess Barnard (Lab), Colin Davies (Lab), Joy Franklin (Ind), Stuart Hall (Ind), Ian Pritchard (Lab), Patrick Rochford (Con), Mark Shorting (Con), Thomas Smith (Con)

Gaywood Old – John Corden (UKIP), Gary Howman (Labour), Rachel Lawson (Green), Graham Middleton (Conservative)

Grimston – Alan Bedwell (UKIP), Michael de Whalley (Green Party), Sue Fraser (Conservative)

Heacham (two seats) – Peter Colvin (Con), Colin Manning (Con), Emilia Rust (Lab), Holly Rust (Lab)

Hilgay with Denver – Tony White (Con)

Hunstanton (three seats) – Paul Beal (Con), Richard Bird (Ind), Carol Bower (Con), John Fincham (UKIP), Andrew Jamieson (Con), A John Maiden (Ind), Andrew Murray (Ind)

Lynn North (two seats) – Adam Bowers (UKIP), Sandra Buck (Lab), John Dobson (Con), Maxine Tweed (Con), Andy Tyler (Lab)

Lynn South and West (two seats) – Claire Garrod (Con), Charles Joyce (Lab), Gary McGuinness (Lab), Peter Pooley (Con)

Marshland – Fred Agnew (UKIP), Brian Long (Con)

North Wootton – Rosalie Costin (UKIP), Deborah Holman (Lab), Greville Howard (Con)

Priory – Samanda Davison (Con), Jim Moriarty (Lab)

Rudham – Andrew Carr (UKIP), Michael Chenery (Con)

Snettisham (two seats) – Ian Devereux (Con), Richard Pennington (Lab), Jean Shears (Lab), Avril Wright (Con)

South Wootton (two seats) Verity Connolly (Green), Nick Daubney (Con), Elizabeth Nockolds (Con), Ed Scholes (Green)

Spellowfields (two seats) – Steve Everett (Lab), Paul Kunes (Con), Andrew Williams (UKIP), Sheila Young (Con)

Springwood – Ken Hubbard (Lab), Ian Swinton (LibDem), Clifford Walters (UKIP), Toby Wing-Pentelow (Con).

St Lawrence – Barry Ayres (Con)

St Margarets with St Nicholas (two seats) – Rob Archer (Green), Lesley Bambridge (Con), Jonathan Burr (Green), Claire Kittow (Lab), Kelly Terrey (Lab), Andrew Wilson (Con)

Upwell and Delph (two seats) – David Pope (Con), Colin Rose (UKIP), Vivienne Spikings (Con)

Valley Hill – Gary Hart (Con), Mike Tilbury (Ind)

Walpole – Richard Blunt (Con), Trevor Roberts (UKIP)

Walton – Roy Groom (Conservative)

Watlington – Ashley Collins (UKIP), Triston Finnis (Lab), Peter Hodson (Con), Ellen Taylor (LibDem)

West Winch (two seats) – Bal Anota (Con), Paul Foster (UKIP), Peter Gidney (Con), June Leamon (UKIP)

Wiggenhall – Kevin Holland (Green), Marcus Hopkins (Con), Bob Scully (UKIP)

Wimbotsham and Fincham – Sandra Squire (Con)

Wissey – Paula Kellingray (Lab), Colin Sampson (Con), Bill Whitmore (UKIP)