Home   News   Article

Breckland district seats dominated by Conservative Party while Swaffham Neighbourhood Plan receives overwhelming support

More news, no ads


Breckland Council is predominantly Conservative following the results of the local district elections.

Following today's count, the district is made up of 37 Conservatives, six Labour, four Independents and two Green Party candidates.

Independent David Wickerson received the most votes for the Swaffham elections with 1,187 votes.

Conservatives Ian Sherwood and Ed Colman were also elected with 876 and 946 votes respectively.

Mr Colman will continue to serve as the town's county councillor.

He said: "Very proud to have been elected to serve the residents of Swaffham on Breckland Council alongside my role as the town’s Norfolk county Councillor.

"Congratulations to Ian Sherwood on his re-election, so sorry to see the long-serving Paul Darby lose his seat."

Councillor Sherwood also expressed his disappointment for Mr Darby, who he described as "a great long-serving councillor and friend."

Mr Darby will continue to serve as a town councillor following the ensuing town council elections (See below for those elected).

An overwhelming majority voted in favour of Swaffham's Neighbourhood Plan with 81.5 per cent supporting the move.

This will see planning decisions being made by Breckland Council using the Plan as its basis up to 2036.

Peter Wilkinson was elected for Nar Valley with 496 votes ahead of Labour's Victor Peters.

Conservative candidate Michael Nairn was elected ahead of Labour's Natasha Morgan for Bedingfeld by a majority of 316 seats.

Fabian Eagle was elected in the Ashill ward.

Mr Eagle took 513 votes. Green Party candidate Anne Rix received 179 votes and Labour's James Gornall received 100.

In Launditch, Mark Kiddle-Morris of the Conservatives was elected with 472 votes, 302 more than Labour's Michael Hirst.

Nigel Wilkin of the Conservatives was elected ahead of Labour's Joseph Sisto in Necton.

In Hermitage, Trevor Carter (Conservative) received the majority of the votes with 561 ahead of Labour candidate Dawn Fairbrother.

Samuel Chapman and George Kybird, both Conservative, were elected for Forest with 459 and 394 votes respectively.

Those elected in the town/parish council elections are:

  • Swaffham: Judy Anscombe (Independent), Lindsay Beech (Conservative), Stewart Bell (Conservative), Wendy Bensley (Conservative), Paul Darby (Conservative), Graham Edwards (Residents4Residents), Brendan Holmes (Independent), Colin Houghton (Conservative), Shirley Matthews (Conservative), Ian Pilcher (Residents4Residents), Keith Sandle (Independent), Leslie Scott (Independent of National Politics), Jill Skinner (Independent)
  • Ashill: Keith Collins, Marcia Forstyh, Alan Ketteringham, John Leggett, Richard Leighton, Jennifer Lusher, Liam Ready, Amanda Shepherd, Andrew Thomas

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More