ELECTION 2015: Nominations published for West Norfolk Council polls

Lynn News Web Site Fillers
Lynn News Web Site Fillers
Have your say

Nominations for next month’s West Norfolk Council elections have been published this evening.

A total of 140 candidates have been put forward for the 42 wards and 62 seats on the authority.

However, four wards – Hilgay with Denver, St Lawrence, Walton and Wimbotsham and Fincham – will not be contested as only one candidate was nominated in each area.

That means current borough mayor Barry Ayres, along with fellow Conservatives Tony White, Roy Groom and Sandra Squire will be elected unopposed.

Of the current 62 councillors, 13 are not seeking re-election this time around.

They are Conservatives Zipha Christopher, Peter Cousins, Tom de Winton, Anthony Lovett, Trevor Manley and Anthony Wright, Labour’s Mark Back, David Collis and Laurence Scott, Liberal Democrat John Loveless and UKIP’s Michael Langwade, Michael Pitcher and Stephanie Smeaton.

However, the other Liberal Democrat on the current council, Tony Bubb, will be contesting his Dersingham seat for the Conservatives.

Other notable names in the list include former borough council leader John Dobson, who is standing in North Lynn for the Conservatives and Clifford Walters, who is trying to win a seat in the Springwood ward for UKIP, four years after losing his seat as a Tory.

The full list of candidates is as follows:

Airfield (two seats) – Bernadette Barclay (Green Party), Sam Cooper, (UKIP), Geoffrey Hipperson (Conservative), Michael Howland (Conservative), Tom Scott (UKIP)

Brancaster – Bob Lawton (Independent), Liz Watson (Conservative)

Burnham – Sam Sandell (Conservative), Simon Wilson (Liberal Democrat)

Clenchwarton – Alexandra Kemp (Independent), David Whitby (Conservative)

Denton (three seats) – Philip Davies (Labour), Tom Edwards (UKIP), Adrian Lawrence (Conservative), Mick Peake (Conservative), Sebastian Polhill (Labour), Tom Ryves (Labour), Martin Storey (Conservative)

Dersingham (two seats) – Tony Bubb (Conservative), Judy Collingham (Conservative), Erika Coward (Liberal Democrat), Richard Coward (Liberal Democrat), John Houston (UKIP)

Docking – Andrew Morrison (Conservative), Jeremy Wilson (Labour)

Downham East – Heather Fouracre (Labour), Jackie Westrop (Conservative)

Downham North – Eamonn McCusker (Green Party), Jonathan Toye (Labour), Geoffrey Wareham (Conservative)

Downham Old Town – Conrad Brown (UKIP), John Doyle (Independent), Sam Gipson (Labour), Kathy Mellish (Conservative)

Downham South – Mike Larcey (Labour), Ira Rose (UKIP), Don Tyler (Conservative)

Emneth with Outwell (two seats) – Chris Crofts (Conservative), Harry Humphrey (Conservative), Tony Jackson (UKIP).

Fairstead (two seats) – Ian Gourlay (Labour), Ron Mortimer (Conservative), Jim Perkins (UKIP), Margaret Wilkinson (Labour), Jonathan Williamson (Conservative)

Gayton – Alistair Beales (Conservative), David Costin (UKIP), Nigel Walker (Green Party)

Gaywood Chase (two seats) – John Collop (Labour), Sandra Collop (Labour), Ivan Goodson (Conservative), Michael Stone (UKIP), Christopher Wherrell (Conservative)

Gaywood North Bank (three seats) – Elizabeth Barclay (UKIP), Jess Barnard (Labour), Colin Davies (Labour), Joy Franklin (Independent), Stuart Hall (Independent), Ian Pritchard (Labour), Patrick Rochford (Conservative), Mark Shorting (Conservative), Thomas Smith (Conservative)

Gaywood Old – John Corden (UKIP), Gary Howman (Labour), Rachel Lawson (Green Party), Graham Middleton (Conservative)

Grimston – Alan Bedwell (UKIP), Michael de Whalley (Green Party), Sue Fraser (Conservative)

Heacham (two seats) – Peter Colvin (Conservative), Colin Manning (Conservative), Emilia Rust (Labour), Holly Rust (Labour)

Hilgay with Denver – Tony White (Conservative)

Hunstanton (three seats) – Paul Beal (Conservative), Richard Bird (Independent), Carol Bower (Conservative), John Fincham (UKIP), Andrew Jamieson (Conservative), A John Maiden (Independent), Andrew Murray (Independent)

Lynn North (two seats) – Adam Bowers (UKIP), Sandra Buck (Labour), John Dobson (Conservative), Maxine Tweed (Conservative), Andy Tyler (Labour)

Lynn South and West (two seats) – Claire Garrod (Conservative), Charles Joyce (Labour), Gary McGuinness (Labour), Peter Pooley (Conservative)

Marshland – Fred Agnew (UKIP), Brian Long (Conservative)

North Wootton – Rosalie Costin (UKIP), Deborah Holman (Labour), Greville Howard (Conservative)

Priory – Samanda Davison (Conservative), Jim Moriarty (Labour)

Rudham – Andrew Carr (UKIP), Michael Chenery (Conservative)

Snettisham (two seats) – Ian Devereux (Conservative), Richard Pennington (Labour), Jean Shears (Labour), Avril Wright (Conservative)

South Wootton (two seats) – Verity Connolly (Green Party), Nick Daubney (Conservative), Elizabeth Nockolds (Conservative), Ed Scholes (Green Party)

Spellowfields (two seats) – Steve Everett (Labour), Paul Kunes (Conservative), Andrew Williams (UKIP), Sheila Young (Conservative)

Springwood – Ken Hubbard (Labour), Ian Swinton (Liberal Democrat), Clifford Walters (UKIP), Toby Wing-Pentelow (Conservative).

St Lawrence – Barry Ayres (Conservative)

St Margarets with St Nicholas (two seats) – Rob Archer (Green Party), Lesley Bambridge (Conservative), Jonathan Burr (Green Party), Claire Kittow (Labour), Kelly Terrey (Labour), Andrew Wilson (Conservative)

Upwell and Delph (two seats) – David Pope (Conservative), Colin Rose (UKIP), Vivienne Spikings (Conservative)

Valley Hill – Gary Hart (Conservative), Mike Tilbury (Independent)

Walpole – Richard Blunt (Conservative), Trevor Roberts (UKIP)

Walton – Roy Groom (Conservative)

Watlington – Ashley Collins (UKIP), Triston Finnis (Labour), Peter Hodson (Conservative), Ellen Taylor (Liberal Democrat)

West Winch (two seats) – Bal Anota (Conservative), Paul Foster (UKIP), Peter Gidney (Conservative), June Leamon (UKIP)

Wiggenhall – Kevin Holland (Green Party), Marcus Hopkins (Conservative), Bob Scully (UKIP)

Wimbotsham and Fincham – Sandra Squire (Conservative)

Wissey – Paula Kellingray (Labour), Colin Sampson (Conservative), Bill Whitmore (UKIP)