Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

Election results for Liz Truss and James Wild confirmed in West Norfolk

James Wild has been re-elected as the MP for North West Norfolk - and Liz Truss has been ousted in South West Norfolk.

Conservative candidate Mr Wild edged out Labour candidate Tim Leaver by just under 5,000 votes earlier this morning.

And a few hours later, Ms Truss was defeated by Labour’s Terry Jermy as she was ousted from the seat she has held since 2010.

The count is well under way at Lynnsport
The count is well under way at Lynnsport

Candidates hoping to oust her such as Pallavi Devulapalli of the Green Party, Josie Ratcliffe of the Liberal Democrats and Lorraine Douglas of the Communist Party of Britain were also in attendance.

Ms Truss’ main opponents were expected to be Independent James Bagge and Labour’s Terry Jermy.

North West Norfolk candidate Rob Colwell, of the Liberal Democrats, left following the re-election of Mr Wild.

Rounding off the South West Norfolk contestants were Toby McKenzie of Reform UK and Gary Conway of the Heritage Party.

The South West Norfolk count got under way at 2.45am.

Keep an eye on our website for all the latest updates throughout the morning.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More