Grand designs sought for West Norfolk mayor’s awards

Lynn News Web Site Fillers
Lynn News Web Site Fillers
Share this article
Have your say

Architects, residents and traders are being urged to enter their new buildings into the Mayor’s Design Awards.

West Norfolk Council is now accepting nominations for the prestigious awards, which celebrates local architectural excellence and craftsmanship.

The awards, which are now in their 17th year, focus on small scale works by local architects, designers and contractors. Last year’s overall winner was Three Acres at Docking, which was designed by Lawrence Cousell.

Mayor, Barry Ayres, who will lead this year’s the judging panel, said: “I am very much looking forward to being involved in this year’s Mayor’s Design Awards as I have been incredibly impressed by the quality of entries in previous years.

“Good design makes such a difference to an area, enhancing its character and making it a place people want to live and visit. These awards are a great way of celebrating the skill and effort of those involved in creating innovative and attractive schemes.

“I would encourage anyone who is aware of such schemes to nominate them for this year’s awards.”

The competition is split into the following categories: Extensions; Conversions; New single homes; Groups or small residential developments; Commercial schemes, such as shop fronts; Workshops and industrial developments; Landscaping and enhancement schemes; Community amenities’ Repairs and refurbishments.

All nominations will be assessed by the mayor and a panel of judges who will look for schemes which bring pleasure through design, workmanship or their contribution to a particular setting.

Anyone can nominate a building or scheme with the permission of the owner by completing an application form.

Application forms are available at

Paper copies are also available at borough council offices and parish councils.

All applications should be accompanied by photographs depicting the site before and after works.

Applications must be received by Friday, January 23, and the winners will be announced at an award ceremony in April 2015.

For more information, please telephone Jane Forder on 01553 616374 or email