King’s Lynn cycling stalwart Crisp saddled with gift to mark 65 years

Steven Neil KLCC
Steven Neil KLCC
Have your say

On Friday King’s Lynn Cycling Club hosted the KLCC Good Friday Club 10M TT event.

Weather first thing was wet and cool but didn’t deter riders participating the KLCC 10M TT route. Some 30 riders took part from different clubs and everyone completed their ride without problems.

The winner was Matthew Webster, representing Loughborough Students CC in a time of 22.20. Fastest KLCC rider was Steve Neil in 23.10 and fastest lady rider KLCC’s Shelley Walduck in 30.04.

Other KLCC riders’ times as follows: James Senter 24.33, David Webster 24.45, Simon Hardy 25.15, James McRann 26.38, Phil Seaman 26.47, Steve Bristow 27.23, Neil Holland 29.29, Ming Lo 31.40, Jo Brooks 31.46, Mandy Fletcher 32.09 and Kersten Muller 32.41.

At the event HQ at Tottenhill Village Hall, where refreshments and bike jumble were provided, a presentation was made to vice-chairman Owen Crisp who has been a member of KLCC for 65 years.

The club president Mrs Monica Williamson presented Owen with a gift boxed handmade card celebrating his achievement.

The card was donated and made by club member Sarah Hardy of RoseJay Creations

On Good Friday lady rider Kay Burgess visited Great Yarmouth CC 10 TT near Wortwell and completed her first TT for KLCC in a time of 31.41 in a field of 143 riders. She described her ride as “felt like slight cross winds making return leg feel harder, slight incline both ways and wet and cold but a good experience.”

Another KLCC rider David Webster took part in Stowmarket 20TT on Saturday against 55 other riders and came 28th in a time of 00.51.15.

He described the race as “a tough course; not your usual TT standard course. Road surface is broken, it is twisting country roads with around 700ft of elevation.”

The first club 10 time trial evening season started from Tottenhill on Wednesday, April 1. Although a cool and windy night 14 riders took part and completed the circuit.

KLCC riders’ times: J Senter 25.21, Simon Hardy 25.21, James McRann 25.47, Myles Higby 25.48, Simon Light 25.57, Phil Seaman 27.20, Chris Levy 27.20, Kevin Piggott 27.22, Simon Howling 27.57, Jo Brooks 30.40 and Mandy Fletcher 31.39.

Also on Saturday KLCC will be hosting a 25m TT Open Two Up and Solo event.HQ will be Fincham Village Hall where 60 riders from various clubs will be participating.

For more information on the club, see www.kingslyn