King’s Lynn Stars duo Lambert and Kerr in Great Britain Speedway World Cup squad

King's Lynn 'Roger Warnes Transport' Stars ready for the start of the 2014 Elite League season. Robert Lambert ANL-140316-191631002
King's Lynn 'Roger Warnes Transport' Stars ready for the start of the 2014 Elite League season. Robert Lambert ANL-140316-191631002
Have your say

King’s Lynn Stars duo Robert Lambert and Lewis Kerr have been called up to the Team Great Britain 2015 Monster Energy FIM Speedway World Cup squad.

Team GB boss Alun Rossiter admits he has one eye on the future after naming his squad ahead of Event 2 at Lynn on June 8.

The Lions, led by 2013 world champion Tai Woffinden and his FIM Speedway Grand Prix rival Chris Harris, bid to roar their way into the Monster Energy SWC Final for a second straight season when they take on Australia, the USA and Latvia at the Adrian Flux Arena.

Only the winners advance to the title decider at Danish track Vojens on June 13, but Rosco is backing his young Brits to deliver against a tough field, likely to feature world champion and USA hero Greg Hancock, plus Aussie SGP stars Chris Holder, Troy Batchelor and Jason Doyle.

Woffy and Bomber are joined in the squad by Lynn’s 17-year-old sensation Lambert (pictured), who could make his senior Team GB debut on home shale. His Stars team mate Kerr is also in the running.

Danny King and Craig Cook are vying for places after flying the British flag in recent years, while Kyle Howarth, Richie Worrall, Richard Lawson and Kyle Newman are all contention for debuts.

Rosco can only choose four for King’s Lynn, and is delighted with the desire shown by his terrific 10. But he admits the Lions have a tough act to follow after their heroic win over Australia, the Americans and Italy at King’s Lynn last summer.

He said: “For me, qualifying for the final outright in my first year in the job was fantastic. But I guess that puts a bit of added pressure on me to repeat that success. I do believe we can and I believe in the riders.

“I’ve given these guys the chance on their performances from last year and what they’re doing this year. Obviously I’ll be keeping a check on riders before I make my decision.

“I’m sure people will be pleased Robert Lambert is included in it. He has certainly given me a lot of food for thought.

“We have to start looking at the next lot of riders coming through. These guys are keen and they want to be there. When I spoke to them, they were all very hungry and pleased to be picked.”

Team GB are fighting for their first SWC medal since 2006, when they claimed bronze at Reading. And Rosco believes they stand a greater chance of reaching the rostrum at Vojens than they did in Bydgoszcz, where they came fourth last year.

He said: “I think if we can qualify at King’s Lynn, we’ll have a good chance. Vojens is more of a British-type track, you could say.

“Bydgoszcz is very unforgiving for anybody. We saw Polish riders winning a race there last year and then totally at the back in the next one. But the boys all gave it 100 percent in 2014 and I can ask for no more.”

Rosco hopes another partisan British crowd will get behind the Lions at the Adrian Flux Arena and cheer them to another big victory.

He said: “I hope people will do the same as they did last year and come and support the team. It was pretty special going around on that parade track after our victory at King’s Lynn.

“Seeing the British fans going crazy like that was something I haven’t witnessed in a long, long, long time.”

Australian team manager Mark Lemon has also unveiled his 10-man squad. Holder, Batchelor and Doyle are joined by in-form Poole star Dakota North and Swindon star Nick Morris, who lodges with Robins team manager Rosco in the UK.

Max Fricke, Josh Grajczonek, Brady Kurtz, Sam Masters and Justin Sedgmen complete the squad.


TEAM GB: Tai Woffinden, Chris Harris, Craig Cook, Danny King, Robert Lambert, Richie Worrall, Kyle Howarth, Lewis Kerr, Richard Lawson and Kyle Newman.

AUSTRALIA: Chris Holder, Troy Batchelor, Jason Doyle, Dakota North, Nick Morris, Max Fricke, Josh Grajczonek, Sam Masters, Justin Sedgmen and Brady Kurtz.

POLAND: Tomasz Gollob, Jaroslaw Hampel, Krzysztof Kasprzak, Maciej Janowski, Przemyslaw Pawlicki, Piotr Pawlicki, Bartosz Zmarzlik, Piotr Protasiewicz, Krzysztof Buczkowski and Pawel Przedpelski.

SWEDEN: Andreas Jonsson, Tomas H Jonasson, Freddie Lindgren, Antonio Lindback, Linus Sundstrom, Peter Ljung, Joonas Kylmakorpi, Kim Nilsson, Jonas Davidsson and Oliver Berntzon.

DENMARK: Nicki Pedersen, Niels-Kristian Iversen, Michael Jepsen Jensen, Peter Kildemand, Kenneth Bjerre, Bjarne Pedersen, Hans Andersen, Leon Madsen, Kenni Larsen and Mikkel Bech.