King’s Lynn Stars suffer Lakeside Good Friday loss

Kings Lynn Stars Press Day ANL-151203-083143009
Kings Lynn Stars Press Day ANL-151203-083143009
Have your say

The King’s Lynn Roger Warnes Transport Stars returned from Lakeside’s Arena Essex Raceway with a 51-39 defeat on Good Friday.

Lynn went into the Elite League meeting off the back of a convincing win over the Hammers last week but their dominating performance didn’t continue in Essex.

After opening the meeting with a heat advantage from Niels-Kristian Iversen (pictured) and Robert Lambert, Lynn fell behind in the second heat when Lewis Kerr and Ashley Morris were on the receiving end of a 5-1 in the second race.

A run of eight consecutive shared races was broken up by a home 5-1 in heat 7 which put the Stars eight points behind, and they struggled to close that gap in the final stages. Captain Rory Schlein won heat 14 with guest Kevin Doolan finishing third to give Dale Allitt’s side a chance to take something from the meeting in heat 15.

But that wasn’t to be and a final 5-1 from the home pairing of Richard Lawson, who scored a maximum, and Grand Prix racer Andreas Jonsson finished ahead of Schlein.

After the meeting, Allitt said: “We are all very disappointed with the result. I think the track conditions, although they are the same for both sides, caught us out early on. We managed to maintain the difference between the sides but we just couldn’t find a heat advantage.

“Rory and Kevin did dig deep to get a heat advantage in heat 14 which gave ourselves a chance to get something and I believe we should have. The 5-1 for them in the final race gave them a flattering win.

“We need to look forward to Wednesday against Belle Vue. I know the boys are disappointed with today’s result but we will build ourselves back up to bounce back next time around.”

Lakeside Hammers: Richard Lawson 14+1, Edward Kennett 10, Andreas Jonsson 9+1, Kim Nilsson 8, Steve Boxall (G) 5+1, Adam Ellis 3, Mikkel Bech 2+1.

Lynn Stars: Niels-Kristian Iversen 10, Rory Schlein 8+1, Lewis Kerr 7+2, Robert Lambert 5+2, Kevin Doolan 5, Ashley Morris 2+2, Kenneth Bjerre 2.