King’s Lynn Stars win but miss out on Shield

Speedway news from the Lynn News,, @lynnnewssport on Twitter
Speedway news from the Lynn News,, @lynnnewssport on Twitter
Share this article
Have your say

The King’s Lynn Roger Warnes Transport Stars opened their 2015 campaign with a 46-43 home win over the defending Elite League champions Poole at the Adrian Flux Arena on Thursday night.

Lynn went into the meeting with a 14 point deficit from the first leg, and from the opening heat, it looked like the Stars could turn it around after Niels-Kristian Iversen and Robert Lambert raced to a 5-1.

But it wasn’t to be the case a determined Poole showed that they wanted to keep hold of their Elite Shield. Former Lynn duo Davey Watt and Maciej Janowski teamed up to pull the scores level on the night in the third race.

The Stars task was made tougher in heat four when they were reduced to six riders following a heavy fall for Nicklas Porsing in his opening ride. Pirates guest Adam Ellis unintentionally lifted coming out of the second bend and forced a wide Porsing into the safety fence.

With Porsing ruled out for the rest of the night, it was down to his team mates to dig deep and pull out a victory on opening night.

Kenneth Bjerre and Iversen stormed to maximum points just before the halfway stage. Poole’s Chris Holder was forced out of the remaining heats with a shoulder and wrist injury sustained in the opening race of the night.

Heading into the often crucial heat 13, the scores were evenly poised with just a single point splitting the teams.

The Stars came out on top with Iversen leading Bjerre home ahead of a hard charging Janowski. Victory on the night was secured in heat 14 with a captain’s ride from Rory Schlein with Lewis Kerr just missing out on taking second place.

A final heat 4-2 ended the fixture 96-85 on aggregate.

Lynn Stars: Niels-Kristian Iversen 12+1, Robert Lambert 8+2, Kenneth Bjerre 7+2, Rory Schlein 7, Lewis Kerr 6+1, Ashley Morris 6+1, Nicklas Porsing 0.

Poole Pirates: Dakota North 13, Maciej Janowski 12+1, Davey Watt 7, Adam Ellis 7, Paul Starke 4+1, Chris Holder 0, Kacper Gomolski r/r.