Maximum points as King’s Lynn Stars trump Aces

Kings Lynn Stars Press Day ANL-151203-082938009
Kings Lynn Stars Press Day ANL-151203-082938009
Have your say

Stand-in team manager Dale Allitt signed off his time in charge of the King’s Lynn Roger Warnes Transport Stars with a 50-43 home victory over the Belle Vue Aces on Wednesday night.

Lynn needed to bounce back from Good Friday’s disappointing defeat away to Lakeside, and in front of a healthy Adrian Flux Arena crowd, the Stars started the meeting with a real determination.

By the end of heat 3, the Stars had taken control of the meeting with a 5-1 race advantage from heat leaders Kenneth Bjerre (pictured) and Rory Schlein, the win opened an early 4 point lead.

A run of consecutive 4-2 advantages, with heat wins for Robert Lambert, Schlein and Bjerre, increased the advantage for Lynn as they moved 10 points clear.

The Aces hit back with a tactical ride victory from Australian prospect Max Fricke in heat 8, but the visitors couldn’t close the gap any further. Bjerre and Schlein linked up well in heat 10 to register a 5-1, and Bjerre followed Niels-Kristian Iversen over the line for another 5-1 in heat 13.

All 3 league points were secured in heat 14 when Schlein and Nicklas Porsing finished behind Belle Vue Captain Scott Nicholls for a shared heat. Nicholls then headed home Fricke in the final race to end the meeting with the Stars winning by 7 points.

After the meeting, Allitt said: “I am pleased to be able to sign off my time in charge with a victory. The boys improved from last Friday’s defeat and produced a solid display to get all the league points.

“With Kenneth scoring well it took the pressure of the rest of the team a little bit, but there is still some room for improvement. I think our reserves Lewis and Ashley were unlucky tonight, their totals are not a true reflection on how they rode.

“I can now hand the team back over to Rob knowing that the boys have put some good points on the board and we remain unbeaten at home this year. For me I am concentrating on the Young Stars now and I am looking forward to the season starting.”

Stars: Kenneth Bjerre 11+1, Rory Schlein 10+2, Niels-Kristian Iversen 9, Robert Lambert 8+1, Nicklas Porsing 7+1, Lewis Kerr 3, Ashley Morris 2.

Belle Vue Aces: Scott Nicholls 12, Max Fricke 11+1, Steve Worrall 7, Matej Zagar 4, Craig Cook 4, Stefan Nielsen 4+2, Simon Stead 1.