Mayor honours West Norfolk’s top volunteers

Mayor's Civic Awards for Voluntary Service
Mayor's Civic Awards for Voluntary Service

Dozens of community activists have been honoured for their contributions to West Norfolk life at an awards ceremony in Lynn.

Record numbers of people were nominated for the annual Mayor’s Civic Awards for Voluntary Service.

And a total 39 people from across the borough were recognised during during the ceremony at Lynn’s town hall on Wednesday.

The winners were chosen by a panel of judges including borough mayor Colin Manning, his deputy, David Whitby, West Norfolk Council’s former civics officer Penny Harrison, King’s Lynn Festival chairman Alison Croose and BBC Radio Norfolk reporter Jill Bennett.

Mr Manning said: “It was a real pleasure and privilege to meet, and present awards to, so many local people who have made such a difference to their local communities.

“Often we hear of negative stories and so it was particularly nice that these volunteers have been recognised by their local communities for their good work and sincere dedication.”

The award winners were Mick Akers, Stina Burger, Lydia Brice, Steven Cable, Melanie Carter, Vanessa Cock, Edward Dore, Susan Fearn, Gloria Fenton, Marie Jackson, Vicki Fletcher, Michael Frost, Sheila Fysh, James Garner, John Garner, Dr Steven Grove, Emma Gibson, Martin Goodchild, Ann Gotts, Norma Grand, Michael Harpley, Angela Irwin, Ann Johnson, Paula Kellingray, James Lewis, Jean Parkes, Rosemary Orphanides, Beverley Randall, Sue Renwick, Dudley Scott, Trudie Smart, David Smith, Michelle Smith, Patricia Stanley, Christine Twell, Bridget Wells, Lynne Wheeler, Thomas Wheeler and Elizabeth Wheeler.

First established in 1995, the awards recognise the time and effort that are given by people across the borough to help and support others and to raise funds for a host of charities.

Each award certificate depicts the branch of a juniper tree in memory of the awards’ founder, the borough’s former mayor Fred Juniper.