Home   News   Article

Nominations announced for Norfolk local elections

The list of candidates nominated to stand in next month's local elections has been published this afternoon.

Voters are due to go to the polls on Thursday, May 6, to choose new county councillors, as well as Norfolk's next Police and Crime Commissioner.

There will also be by-elections to fill vacant seats on the Downham town council and Clenchwarton parish council, though no nominations have been published for expected polls in Brancaster and Thornham.

Ballot box (45996954)
Ballot box (45996954)

Five candidates have been nominated to contest the election to succeed Lorne Green as the county's PCC.

They are: John Crofts (Liberal Democrat), David Moreland (Independent), Giles Orpen-Smellie (Conservative), Michael Rosen (Labour), Martin Schmierer (Green Party).

The candidates nominated to contest Norfolk County Council divisions in our area are as follows:

Clenchwarton and King’s Lynn South: Adam Giles (Labour), Liam Hind (Conservative), Alexandra Kemp (Independent).

Dersingham: Erika Coward (Liberal Democrat), Stuart Dark (Conservative), George Lankester (Labour), Jordan Stokes (Green Party).

Docking: Michelle Carter (Labour), Michael Chenery (Conservative), Chris Morley (Independent).

Downham Market: Eamonn McCusker (Labour), Josie Ratcliffe (Liberal Democrat), Jackie Westrop (Independent), Tony White (Conservative).

Fakenham: Tom FitzPatrick (Conservative), Ruth Goodall (Labour), Kris Marshall-Smith (Green Party), John Rest (Independent).

Feltwell: Neil Aldridge (Independent), Christopher Harvey (Labour), Tom Ryves (Independent), Martin Storey (Conservative).

Fincham: Alan Holmes (Independent), Brian Long (Conservative), Jo Smith (Labour).

Freebridge Lynn: Francis Bone (Labour), Nick Daubney (Conservative), Michael de Whalley (Green Party).

Gayton and Nar Valley: David Collis (Labour), Jim Moriarty (Independent), Olivia Morris (Conservative).

Gaywood North and Central: Helen Dalgliesh (Labour), Graham Middleton (Conservative), David Mills (Liberal Democrat), Jim Perkins (UKIP).

Gaywood South: Micaela Bartrum (Labour), Rob Colwell (Liberal Democrat), Thomas Smith (Conservative), Michael Stone (UKIP).

King’s Lynn North and Central: Rob Archer (Green Party), Lesley Bambridge (Conservative), Gary Bramham (Reform UK), Richard Coward (Liberal Democrat), Wilfred Lambert (Labour).

Marshland North: Matthew Hannay (Labour), Julian Kirk (Conservative), Sandra Squire (Independent).

Marshland South: Chris Dawson (Conservative), David Hodgkinson (Labour), Alastair Kent (Green Party), Colin Rose (Independent).

Necton and Launditch: Jane Keidan-Cooper (Green Party), Mark Kiddle-Morris (Conservative), Joseph Sisto (Labour), Matthew Weatherill (Liberal Democrat).

North Coast: John Crofts (Liberal Democrat), Andrew Jamieson (Conservative), John Simmons (Labour).

Swaffham: Paul Auber (Liberal Democrat), Peter Bate (Green Party), Ed Colman (Conservative), John Zielinski (Labour).

The Brecks: Fabian Eagle (Conservative), Evie-May Ellis (Liberal Democrat), Anne Rix (Green Party), Stuart Terry (Labour).

Wells: Andrew Brown (Liberal Democrat), Michael Dalby (Conservative), Stephen Green (Green Party), Xenia Horne (Labour).

And the candidates contesting the parish council elections are as follows:

Clenchwarton: Alan Bell, Karl Tordoff.

Downham (North ward): Simon Gomes-Dacosta, Daniel Jordan, James Leach, Justin Lewis.

Downham (Old Town ward): Tony Leach, Josie Ratcliffe.

Downham (South ward): Mark Eastwood, Stephen Moyses.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More