RAF Marham celebrates talent in King’s Lynn ceremony

RAF Marham celebrates its awards night
RAF Marham celebrates its awards night
Have your say

The achievements of personnel of RAF Marham were celebrated during an Oscar style ceremony.

Hundreds of men and women went along to Lynn Corn Exchange to honour the brightest and best talent during the ceremony, which was the first of its kind for the base.

Eighteen times Commonwealth medal winner, Mick Gault was among the special guests who had attended the awards, held last week.

The event was held to celebrate the achievements of personnel at the base, home of the Tornado Force, which has been involved in operations across the globe and has experienced an unprecedented period of activity over the last two years.

More than 170 nominations had been received for the 15 categories.

RAF Marham Station Commander Gp Capt Harvey Smyth said: “I am constantly amazed on a daily basis of the high standards our people achieve and all those nominated are worthy of recognition.”

Among the 15 categories awarded were Sports Personality, Support to the Community, Team Contribution, Innovation, Service Person of the Year, Air Cadet of the Year and the Station Commander’s Award.

Medal winner Mr Gault presented the award for sports personality of the year to SAC Lizzie Driver for her participation in the Team GB Natural Luge event,

She said: “It was most unexpected, the nominees in my category were both very strong in their particular field, both highly deserving as winners. I feel so privileged to be recognised for something which I love doing.”

The lifetime achievement award went to Dee Gent, manager of the Rainbow Childcare Centre.

She said, “I was so surprised when I heard my name read out, it was overwhelming, but a very proud moment, for both myself, my family and my team at the centre.

“Whilst I do this because I am passionate about giving children the very best start, I don’t do it for the recognition, but this has come as a bonus and it is lovely to know that our efforts are recognised and appreciated.”

The Station Commander’s Award was awarded to Flt Lt Gary Walker,

He said, “It was a great experience to have been honoured by a nomination for an award at the Station’s Awards Night.”

Award winners were: sports - Sports personality, SAC Lizzie Driver; manager of the year, Cpl Adam Tingey and Cpl Ben Warnes; sports team, football. Community - support to the community, SSAFA Community Volunteers; support from the community, Lorraine Booth; volunteer of the year Cpl Kevin Turner (Flt Sgt Kev Forshaw). Operational - most significant contribution to air power, II Squadron(Former Squadron XO); most significant team contribution to RAF Marham, Force Protection Training Flight; innovation award, SAC Jared Essel.Individual - service person of the year, Sqdn Ldr Marshall Kinnear; civilian of the year, Diane Wilson; air cadet of the year, Cadet Flt Sgt Kristian Crittenden. Station Commander’s Lifetime Contribution to RAF Marham, Dee Gent; outstanding contribution by a junior member of the service, SAC Amy Gilmour; Station Commander’s Award, Flt Lt Gary Walker.