This week’s object is a glass tobacco jar engraved with the names of James and Ann Hitchcock, Lynn 1853 with flowers on either side.
King’s Lynn’s position near the mouth of the Great Ouse River has meant that the town has always had a strong relationship with the sea. Ships coming and going from the port needed skilled mariners (known as pilots) to assist them. James Hitchcock received his pilot licence in 1840 and continued as a pilot for many years. He married Sarah Ann Webb (known as Ann) in 1832. The couple lived in North Street in King’s Lynn. Census records of 1841 show that they had four children – Elizabeth, John, Robert, and Albert. Ann died in 1878, aged 63 years. James passed away a year later.
The original Pilot Office stood near St Anns Fort in the old river course. The current King’s Lynn Pilot Office was built 1864 with a view of the Estuary Cut and in 1987 the Pilot Office and the public baths merged to form the King’s Lynn Conservation Board.
This object can be seen as part of the permanent maritime display at Lynn Museum. Come along to take a closer look and take the opportunity to explore our brand new exhibition Little Lives, Snapshots of Childhood 1800 to the present day.