Tories unopposed in Swaffham’s district council seats

Lynn News Web Site Fillers
Lynn News Web Site Fillers
Share this article
Have your say

Residents in Swaffham already know who their district councillors will be for the next four years after the Conservatives were unopposed in final nominations.

The town will have three of the 49 seats on the new Breckland district council after the polls on May 7.

And, with no other nominations put forward by last Thursday’s deadline, Tory candidates Paul Darby, Shirley Matthews and Ian Sherwood will be elected unopposed.

But there will be an election to the town council after 14 candidates were put forward for the 13 available seats.

Mrs Matthews, Swaffham’s current mayor, will be serving her seventh term as a district councillor, having first won election in 1991.

Mr Sherwood, a former town mayor and current member of the council’s ruling executive, will be starting his fifth tenure since he was first elected in 1999.

Mr Darby, who is also a town councillor, has represented the Wissey ward for the past four years.

He replaces Frank Sharpe, who has represented the town since 2006 and is standing in the Ashill ward this time around.

Meanwhile, it is now confirmed that four current members of the town council – former deputy mayor Stewart Bell, Graham Eves, Pippa Wade and David Wickerson – are stepping down from the authority.

The candidates nominated to stand are Steve Allen, Robert Bartram, Wendy Bensley, Brenda Bowler, Jan Buckley-Stevens, Paul Darby, Charles Gunner, Colin Houghton, Theresa Jennison, Sheila Lister, Shirley Matthews, Leslie Scott, Jill Skinner and Anne Thorp.

And the full list of candidates standing in Breckland wards in the Swaffham area is as follows:

Ashill: Emma Parker (UKIP), Anne Rix (Green), Frank Sharpe (Con).

Bedingfeld: Mike Nairn (Con).

Forest (two seats): Sam Chapman-Allen (Con), William Nunn (Con), Jeffrey Prosser (Green), Dennis Sully (Lab), Yvonne Sully (Lab), Sandra Waumsley (Green).

Hermitage: Trevor Carter (Con), John Savory (UKIP).

Launditch: Elizabeth Gould (Con)

Nar Valley: Peter Wilkinson (Con), Dave Williams (UKIP).

Necton: Joe Sisto (Lab), Nigel Wilkin (Con).

Swaffham (three seats): Paul Darby (Con), Shirley Matthews (Con), Ian Sherwood (Con).