Home   News   Article

Voting begins in local council elections

More news, no ads


Ballot boxes at the ready (8276396)
Ballot boxes at the ready (8276396)

Voting is now underway in elections to choose new councillors for West Norfolk and neighbouring districts.

The polls opened a short time ago and residents have until 10pm tonight to cast their ballots.

Dozens of district council seats are up for grabs, despite a reduction in the number of spots available in West Norfolk, following ward boundary changes.

There are also town and parish council elections in a number of communities, while residents of Swaffham will have the chance to have their say on a proposed neighbourhood plan.

Results in North Norfolk are due to be declared overnight, while voters in West Norfolk and Breckland will have to wait until tomorrow to find out who will represent them for the next four years.

The full list of candidates contesting district council seats in our area is as follows:


Airfield (two seats): Geoffrey Hipperson (Con), Mike Howland (Ind), Matt Sawyer (Con)

Bircham with Rudhams: Michael Chenery (Con), Chris Morley (Ind)

Brancaster: Alistair Beales (Con), Bob Lawton (Ind)

Burnham Market and Docking: Simon Bower (Ind), Sam Sandell (Con)

Clenchwarton: Gary Bramham (Lab), Matthew Hannay (Ind), David Whitby (Con)

Denver: Alan Holmes (Ind), Tony White (Con)

Dersingham (two seats): Yvonne Anderson (Lab), Tony Bubb (Con), Judy Collingham (Con), Jordan Stokes (Lab)

Downham Old Town: Becka Elliott (Lab), Steve Mackinder (Ind), Shimit Patel (Con), Steven White (Lib Dem)

East Downham: Doug Lawson (Ind), Josie Ratcliffe (Lib Dem), Jonathan Toye (Lab), Jackie Westrop (Con)

Emneth and Outwell (two seats): Chris Crofts (Con), Stewart Dickson (Lab), Yvonne Howard (Ind), Harry Humphrey (Con)

Fairstead (two seats): Gary Howman (Lab), James Perkins (UKIP), Michael Taylor (Con), Margaret Wilkinson (Lab)

Feltwell (two seats): Adrian Lawrence (Con), Martin Storey (Con), Kenneth Winter (UKIP)

Gayton and Grimston (two seats): Gregg Baker (Lab), Michael de Whalley (Green), Sue Fraser (Con), Colin Manning (Con)

Gaywood Chase: Liam Hind (Con), Christine Hudson (Lab)

Gaywood Clock: John Collop (Lab), Richard Parr (Con), Michael Stone (UKIP)

Gaywood North Bank (three seats): Micaela Bartrum (Lab), Sandra Collop (Lab), Angie Dickenson (Con), Wilf Lambert (Lab), Joshua Lowe (Con), Mark Shorting (Con), Clifford Walters (Ind)

Heacham (two seats): Stuart Dark (Con), Terry Parish (Ind), Adrian Soskin (Con)

Hunstanton (two seats): Paul Beal (Ind), Amanda Bosworth (Con), Carol Bower (Con), John Crofts (Lib Dem), Debbie Le May (Ind), Emilia Rust (Lab)

Massingham with Castle Acre: Jim Moriarty (Ind), Ed Robb (Lab), Tim Tilbrook (Con)

Methwold: Sandra McNeill (Lab), Mick Peake (Con), Alun Ryves (Ind)

North Downham: Shaun Blackmur (Con), Andy Bullen (Ind), Eamonn McCusker (Green), Ben Molyneux-Hetherington (Lab), Sandra Wood (Lib Dem)

North Lynn (two seats): Ben Jones (Lab), Maxine Tweed (Con), Paul Tweed (Con), Andy Tyler (Lab)

Snettisham: Ian Devereux (Con), Jan Roomes (Ind)

South and West Lynn (two seats): Darren Gibson (Con), Charles Joyce (Lab), Alex Kemp (Ind), Steven Middleton (Con).

South Downham: Linda Graham (Lab), Brian Redgers (Lib Dem), Don Tyler (Con)

Springwood: Nik Mezanov (Con), Jo Rust (Lab)

St Margarets with St Nicholas (two seats): Rob Archer (Green) , Lesley Bambridge (Con), Francis Bone (Lab), Martins Strals (Con), Kelly Terrey (Lab)

Terrington (two seats): Paul Kunes (Con), Trevor Roberts (UKIP), Sandra Squire (Ind), Sheila Young (Con)

The Woottons (three seats): Emily Blake (Lab), Paul Bland (Ind), Pallavi Devulapalli (Green), Lord Howard (Con), Graham Middleton (Con), Elizabeth Nockolds (Con), Paul Smith (Lab), Peter Smith (Lab)

Tilney, Mershe Lande and Wiggenhall (two seats): Barry Ayres (Con), Ashley Collins (Ind), Brian Long (Con), Andrew Williams (Ind)

Upwell and Delph (two seats): Matt Gingell (Con), David Pope (Ind), Colin Rose (Ind), Bill Smith (Con)

Walsoken, West Walton and Walpole (two seats): Richard Blunt (Con), Roy Groom (Ind), Julian Kirk (Con), Eden Kruh-Atar (Lab).

Watlington: Jim Bhondi (Ind), Peter Hodson (Con), Guy Jarvis (UKIP)

West Winch (two seats): Peter Gidney (Con), Marcus Hopkins (Con), Simon Nash (Ind), Daphne Sampson (Green).

Wissey: John Bankhead (UKIP), Jim McNeill (Lab), Colin Sampson (Con), Judith Taylor (Ind).


Ashill: Fabian Eagle (Con), James Gornall (Lab), Anne Rix (Green)

Bedingfeld: Natasha Morgan (Lab), Mike Nairn (Con)

Forest (two seats): Sam Chapman-Allen (Con), David Hodgkinson (Lab), Robert Kybird (Con)

Hermitage: Trevor Carter (Con), Dawn Fairbrother (Lab)

Launditch: Mike Hirst (Lab), Mark Kiddle-Morris (Con)

Nar Valley: Vic Peters (Lab), Peter Wilkinson (Con)

Necton: Joe Sisto (Lab), Nigel Wilkin (Con)

Swaffham (three seats): Ed Colman (Con), Paul Darby (Con), Joanna Navarre (Lab), Ian Sherwood (Con), David Wickerson (Ind), John Zielinski (Lab)


Lancaster North: Christopher Cushing (Con), Sean Mears (Lib Dem), Ritchie Tennant

Lancaster South (two seats): Imogen Bruce (Lab), Annie Claussen-Reynolds (Con), Jeremy Punchard (Ind), John Rest (Ind), Roy Reynolds (Con)

The Raynhams: Nigel Housden (Ind), Becky Palmer (Con), Sue Traverso (Lib Dem)

Walsingham: Tom FitzPatrick (Con), Simon Hester (Ind), Andraste Tiplady (Lib Dem)

Wells with Holkham: Peter Fisher (Lib Dem), Michael Gates (Lab), David Mack (Con)


Sutton Bridge (two seats): Sally Beal (Con), Michael Booth (Ind), Chris Brewis (Ind), Victoria Hills (Con).

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More