West Norfolk Council approves new deputy cabinet member allowances

West Norfolk Council's offices
West Norfolk Council's offices
Have your say

Additional allowances are to be paid to some West Norfolk councillors following the expansion of the authority’s ruling Conservative administration.

Seven new deputy cabinet members were appointed following the election of the council’s new leader, Brian Long, in May.

Proposals to pay them an additional £1,100 allowance, on top of their existing members’ allowances, were approved at Thursday’s full council meeting.

The proposal had earlier been backed by the cabinet in May.

When he announced the plan for deputy cabinet members, Mr Long said it was intended to broaden the base of experience in the council’s administration.

The deputy cabinet members are Peter Colvin, development; Ian Devereux, performance; Peter Hodson; regeneration; Graham Middleton, community; Sandra Squire, environment; Jackie Westrop, human resources and shared services; Avril Wright, culture.

The move came three months after the authority voted to increase members’ basic allowances by 8.5 per cent for the current financial year.

But the decision attracted criticism from some councillors and union officials because workers’ pay was only increased by one per cent at the same time.