West Norfolk youths celebrate doing double at festival

Share this article
Have your say


On a cold and wet spring morning West Norfolk under 11’s were drawn in a pool against Southwold and Norwich.

West played some great rugby and the line, rucking and team work was superb. West beat Southwold 5-0 in their first match. Then against Norwich, West were the superior team running out 9-0 winners meaning they won the pool.

Winning the pool put West into the final against Diss. Again West came out strong and delivered a great team performance to run out 4-1 winners and win the festival for the third year in a row.

Team: Alan Podnieks, Archie Hickling, Elan Chesney-Beales, Felix Young, Danny Dolman, Jack Challen, Hobie Riches, Edward Mellor, Ryan Batten, Ben Zebedee and Raphael Kasket.

Try scorers: Danny, Felix, Hobie, Elan, Jack, Freddie, Ben, Ryan and Raffie. Top scorer: Raffie 4.


West were drawn in a pool containing Beccles, Wymondham and the hosts Diss.

Game one against Diss, as in last week’s encounter between the teams, was a very tight game with defences on top. Lucas Triffitt scored the only try of the first half. Further tries from Jack Watson and Jack Zebedee helped West open their festival with a 15-0 win.

A first ever encounter with Beccles proved a more open game and West ran out to a 30-10 victory thanks to tries from Triffitt, Watson, Jamie Hickling, Henry Flint and Daniel Ballinger. A superb 35-0 victory against Wymondham sent West through to the final against North Walsham.

As the rain eased Euan Underwood started to dictate things at scrum half and pushed West forward.

Walsham came back into the game but were repelled by Wests’ better defence led by Matthew Lloyd.

Following a scoreless first half Thomas Norman managed to break free and open the scoring early in the second half. West defended superbly and Lloyd rounded off a man of the festival display by sealing a 10-0 victory to bring West U10 a first-ever festival title.

Squad: Jack Watson, Jake Bailey, Lucas Triffitt, Matthew Lloyd, Euan Underwood, Thomas Norman, Daniel Ballinger, Henry Flint, Jamie Hickling, Jack Zebedee.