Younger members shine at Fakenham Gallow club finals night

Ladies Triples champions with Ladies President, Maureen Leverett (second left).  From left - Louise Hannant, Pam Frary and Coralie Bell.'MLNF Faga0002 Peter Bird
Ladies Triples champions with Ladies President, Maureen Leverett (second left). From left - Louise Hannant, Pam Frary and Coralie Bell.'MLNF Faga0002 Peter Bird
Share this article
Have your say

Fakenham Gallow Indoor Bowls Club finals night on Friday was played out in front of a packed audience with younger members making a prominent showing against seasoned older opponents.

Sam King, just 26 and a former under 25 international, beat 20-year-old Danny Cawthorne in the men’s senior singles with Cawthorne then going on to take the club’s U25 title.

For Cawthorne it has been a particularly good year. He reached the county senior singles final and was a member of the Norfolk national winning U25 double rink team. As he is also captain of the club’s senior A team it was not surprising that he was awarded the Mervyn King Trophy as the club’s U25 young achiever of the year.

Sam King had a quieter year but with his father, international Mervyn King, they have currently reached the final 16 of the National Generation Pairs event, in which they were the losing finalists last year.

Not to be outdone Nicole Moseley, an U18 member in the Ladies section, who was a member of the winning Tartan Trophy team, was awarded the Morrison’s Young Achiever of the Year award as one of the club’s most successful newcomers.

“It’s good to see some of our younger members coming through,” said club president, Richard Andrew. “We encourage youngsters to play here.” He put that success down to the highly successful qualified coaching available to younger members each Friday evening.

At senior level Suzanne King retained the ladies singles title beating Pam Whitehead in a repeat of last year’s event. She then partnered Pauline Frost to win the doubles with Frost going on to pick up more winning awards in the mixed pairs and Tartan Trophy Plate events with husband, David.

Pam Frary, a losing pairs finalist, went on to triumph as a member of the threes and fours winning teams where her partners included Coralie Bell and Louise Hannant.

Amongst the men there were several familiar faces but the most frequent was younger member, Shaun Savoury, still in his 20s, who was part of the winning team in the senior threes and fours, the mixed triples, the summer pairs and the Plate pairs.

At the end of the evening Sheila Cox, who was retiring after 11 years as ladies’ treasurer, was awarded the Vera Wright Rose Bowl for her work for the club.

One of the club’s longest serving members, Richard High, was presented with the Negus Personality Cup for gaining the unusual distinction of being a member of both the winning division one afternoon and evening leagues.

The team achievement award went to Stan Sole’s team which won division 3 of the evening league last year, and the division 2 title this year to qualify for division 1 next winter.

Results: Ladies - Singles: Suzanne King; Runner up: Pam Whitehead. Pairs: Pauline Frost, Suzanne King: Pam Frary, Louise Hannant. Triples: Pam Frary, Coralie Bell, Louise Hannant; Ann Leverett, Kathy Shepherd, Beryl Graver. Fours: Pam Frary, Coralie Bell, Pauline Frost, Louise Hannant: Cheryl Lincoln, Irene Lambert, Mollie Bowyer, Pam Whitehead.

Men - Singles: Sam King; Danny Cawthorne. Pairs: John Lilliweb, Richard Mason; Roy Preston, David Webb. Triples: Mark Riches, David Vaughan, Shaun Savory; Rhys Morgan, Danny Cawthorne, Sam King. Fours: Trevor Savory, Jack Wells, Lee Seppings (sub), Shaun Savory, Sam King; David Hall, Liam Leverett, Peter Murfit, David Frost. Men’s plates - Singles: Richard Mason. Pairs: Shaun Savory, Sam King. Triples: David Hall, Peter Murfit, David Frost. Fours: Mick Leverett, Roy Preston, David Webb, David Vaughan.

Mixed - Pairs: Pam Whitehead, Rhys Morgan; Josie Wright, Peter Murfit. Triples: Mark Riches, David Vaughan, Shaun Savory: Rhys Morgan, Danny Cawthorne, Sam King. Mixed Plate - Pairs: Pauline Frost, David Frost. Triples: David Hall, Peter Murfit, David Frost. Tartan Trophy: Emily O’Hanlon, Danny Cawthorne, Sam King: Nicole Moseley, David Bix, Mo Moseley.

Tartan Trophy Plate: Pauline Frost, Peter Murfit, David Frost. Stratford Cup: Roy Preston, Coralie Bell. John Piercy Cup for under 18’s: Tom Cooper; Emily O’Hanlon. Under 25 men’s singles: Danny Cawthorne; Matthew Warner.

Afternoon League - Division one: Richard Andrews. Division Two: Janice Able. Division three: Gina Horne. Evening League - Division One: Demus Smerdon. Division Two: Stan Sole. Division Three: Beryl Williamson. Evening League Knockout Cup: Division One: Sam King. Division Two: Martin Bircham. Division Three: Beryl Williamson.

Australian Pairs - Division One: Trevor Savory. Division Two: David Vaughan. Division three: Peter Gledhill. Division four: Alastair (Alastair) Hunter. Knockout Cup: Jack Wells, David Vaughan; Maureen and Michael Leverett.

Summer League: Trevor Savory. Summer pairs: Shaun Savory, Danny Cawthorne.

Morrison’s young achiever of the year: Nicole Moseley. Vera Wright Rose Bowl: Sheila Cox. Team achievement award: Stan Sole’s team. Negus Personality Cup: Richard High. Mervyn King Trophy (for young achiever under 25): Danny Cawthorne.