Letters: Julian Kirk, March 18, 2016

Field of Poppies PPP-160102-121256001
Field of Poppies PPP-160102-121256001
Share this article
Have your say

The Royal British Legion, Nelson’s County Branch, Norfolk, BR0724. In 2015 it was decided to activate and rename the old Royal British Legion Norfolk Holding Branch.

The new name was to be The Nelson’s County Branch, after Norfolk’s famous son, Admiral Lord Nelson. A number of members had shown an interest in forming a committee and it was decided that we should hold the first committee meeting in the Lord Nelson public house in Burnham Thorpe, the village of Lord Nelson’s birth, and the pub which Nelson would have known. On January 11 a small group assembled for this inaugural meeting, with others signing up to form a committee via email. This was a momentous occasion for us and Norfolk as a whole, and I am sure it would have met with the approval of Nelson himself. Since that first meeting we now meet once a month in the Lord Nelson as a committee. We have formed a welfare committee under the welfare chairman Andrew Young. We have ordered our standard, which will be dedicated in All Saints’ Church, Burnham Thorpe, on October 2. Lord Nelson’s father was the rector of this church and Nelson was married within it. We have a young standard bearer, Bethany Porter, who is also standard bearer for Lynn Sea Cadets.

We intend to hold social functions throughout the year to raise much needed funds and we would like to hear from businesses and organisations that would be willing to help with our fundraising activities. We have already affiliated with Lynn Sea Cadets and we are actively looking to affiliate with local youth groups and schools. Our current membership is 306. We have a website www.rblnelsonscountybranch.com and we can be found on www.facebook.com/nelsonscountybranch or www.twitter.com/@nelsonsbranch

I am branch chairman and can be contacted at Meerdyke Farm, Harps Hall Road, Walton Highway, Norfolk, PE147DL, telephone 07816909870, email: juliankirk@hotmail.com

Julian Kirk, Branch chairman