Home   Sport   Article

Heacham Manor golfer is in Norfolk's leading duo

More news, no ads


Warren Bates and Ben Terry were Norfolk’s leading duo at Seacroft in the Eastern Counties Foursomes, in which Leicestershire & Rutland emerged as comfortable winners.

Norfolk ended up seventh of nine overall but finished just three-and-half points behind joint runners-up Cambridgeshire and Lincolnshire – who were both a full six points back from the runaway victors.

Heacham Manor golfer Bates and his Royal Norwich partner Terry dovetailed superbly over the two tournament days on the Lincolnshire links lay-out.

Heacham Manor golfer Warren Bates. (56744336)
Heacham Manor golfer Warren Bates. (56744336)

Foursomes golf is an exciting and difficult format to master but the pair secured six points from the eight on offer in their matches.

Bates, 22, said: “We’re best mates. We play a lot of golf together and know each other’s game, so that helps when you’re making decisions together on shots.

“We drove it well and putted well – but it would’ve been nice to have won the other two points.”

He will be hoping to take his fine form into this week’s Brabazon Trophy, which began yesterday at Saunton Golf Club in Devon.

He came through the Midlands qualifier at Stanton-On-The-Wolds Golf Club to earn his place in the field for the tournament – also known as the English Men’s Open Amateur Stroke Play Championship – for the first time.

Next week Bates will continue his busy period when he tees it up in in another prestigious amateur event, the Lagonda Trophy (May 25-26), which is held each year at Gog Magog Golf Club just outside Cambridge.

Eastern Counties Foursomes (Seacroft Golf Club) final result: Leicestershire & Rutland 27.5 points, Cambridgeshire 21.5, Lincolnshire 21.5, Suffolk 21, Berks, Bucks & Oxon 19.5, Essex 18.5, Norfolk 18.0, Northamptonshire 17.5, Bedfordshire 15.0.

Norfolk: Jon Baker Odlin (Dereham), Warren Bates (Heacham Manor), Mason Bernstein (Lynn), Simon Clark (Yarmouth & Caister), Carl Green (Yarmouth & Caister), George Morris (Eaton), Peter Murphy (Mundesley), Michael Skipper (Eaton), Ben Terry (Royal Norwich), Chris White (Hunstanton), Iain Yule (Lynn).

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More