Home   Sport   Article

Ryston Runners host second race in cross-country grand prix series

The second event in the Ryston Runners cross-country grand prix 2019/20 series took place at Shouldham Warren on Sunday.

More than 150 athletes took on the 9k long course as well as a good number in the younger age group races.

A pleasing outright win was secured by club chairman Rob Simmonds, with Ben Keeley making it a home club one-two in the senior men’s race.

The start of the Ryston cross country race. (21479087)
The start of the Ryston cross country race. (21479087)

Simmonds’ nephew Thomas won the under-9 boys’ race, suggesting the family team tendency to excel is being carried on, while his father Andrew was sixth in the SM race despite now being of Master Athlete age.

Dickie Ebbs, just short of 50, was second M45, Tony Savage was third M55, just ahead of Malcolm Tuff, who had joined that age group the previous day.

Kevin Howlett matched Tony’s position in the M60 age group.

Kevin Took and Kevin Howlett. (21479045)
Kevin Took and Kevin Howlett. (21479045)

Ryston’s women also took a share of the honours and the consistent Linda Marshall was placed third in the W50s, with Pauline Sparrow and Jane Ashby finishing second and third in the W60 category.

In the younger age groups there was a storming run by Charlie Wakefield to win the under-17s’ race.

Aidan Howard and Thomas Elsdon were placed second and third in the under-9 boys and Archie Rowe third in the under-11s.

Adam Howard (21479006)
Adam Howard (21479006)

Rosie Booth claimed a third place in the under-17 women’s race.

Other Ryston finishers.

Under-11 girls: 4 Chloe Pratt, 5 Abigail Bransgrove, 6 Alisha Greenwood, 7 Evie Clayton, 8 Hette Koulman.

Under-11 boys: 9 Will Saunders, 10 Jacob Booth, 12 Sammy King.

Under-13 girls: 5 Ella Goldring.

Charlie Wakefield (21479030)
Charlie Wakefield (21479030)

Under-13 boys: 4 Dylan Whitehouse, 5 Sam Doughty.

Under-15 girls: 5 Evie Goldring.

Under-17 boys: 4 Jannis Koulman, 5 Owen Burge.

Under-17 girls: 4 Tiegan Moore.

SM: 10 Dominic Hughes, 15 Pete Reed, 16 Gareth Hunt, 19 Kevin Took.

SW: 9 Charlotte Smith.

M40: 4 Dan Pratt, 6 Jamie Bransgrove, 7 Adam Howard, 10 Jake Whitehouse.

M50: 10 Martin Ive, 12 Mark Crook.

Pauline Sparrow (21479071)
Pauline Sparrow (21479071)

W55: 6 Sue Smith.

M55: 5 Ian Todd, 7 Jon Benstead.

W60: 5 Liz Blakie, 7 Gill Hart.

M60: 7 Christopher Milnes.

Robert Simmonds (21479079)
Robert Simmonds (21479079)

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More