Frome deal major blow to King’s Lynn FC play-off ambitions

Have your say

Evo-Stik Southern League Premier Division

Frome Town 1



King’s Lynn Town 0

Lynn’s play-off ambitions were dealt a major blow as Frome made it a record five successive Southern League Premier wins.

It took a 56th minute goal from Darren Jefferies to seal victory in a scrappy game of very few chances.

After Jefferies had volleyed over in the opening seconds, Lynn’s on-loan striker John Sands was denied by defender Kris Miller while Ryan Fryatt over-hit a centre from the right shortly after.

The hosts went close to breaking the deadlock in the 11th minute when Mitchell Page and Jon Davies combined for the latter to curl an effort just over the woodwork.

Lynn’s David Bridges completely fluffed his lines in front of the target while Frome defender Steve Hulbert blocked a fierce snap shot from Sands.

Linnets goalkeeper Alex Street thwarted Jefferies in the only real noteworthy save for either goalkeeper in the first 45 minutes.

Eleven minutes after the restart, Frome took the lead when Jefferies hammered home from 12 yards after Kern Miller lost control of the ball.

Frome went close to extending their advantage with Street collecting a Davies corner at the second attempt before denying the same player a few seconds later.

The busy Street then foiled Jefferies from a tight angle as the west country side remained on top.

Lynn threw everyone upfield in an effort to find an equaliser in the dying stages, but the hosts dealt comfortably with anything thrown at them.

Frome: Chitty, K. Miller, Teale, Hobbs, Hulbert, Mapstone, J. Davies, Bryant, Page, Cleverley (G Miller 39), Jefferies (B Davies 83). Unused subs: McPhee, Roberts. Scorer: Jefferies 56.

Lynn: Street, R. Fryatt, Yong, Miller, Gaughran, Smith, Clunan, Hurst (Hilliard 70), Stevenson, Sands (Zielonka 80), Bridges (Mulready 66). Unused subs: Castellan, Friend.

Attendance: 145.

After two months of voting from the Lynn supporters, there are now 17 players from past and present for fans to vote and place into the “Lynn Legends Hall of Fame”. Mick Wright, after 1,152 games for the club over three decades, has been put straight into the hall of fame as number one.

Two positions are still available and the final voting via the club’s website will close on April 15. Only one vote per supporter.Any queries, please get in contact with

List of players: Keith Rudd, Martin Coupe, Dick Everitt, Cliff Whitelum, Freddie Easthall, Clive Adams, Richard Johnson, Malcolm Lindsay, Joe Dines, Shane Tolley, Andy Claxton, Stephen Lewis, Alex Street, Dominic MacCallum, Jack Defty, Lee Stevenson, Gary Setchell.