Four King’s Lynn Stars guests called in for Lions clash

Kings Lynn Stars Press Day ANL-151203-082938009
Kings Lynn Stars Press Day ANL-151203-082938009
Have your say

Thursday night, 7.30pm, sees the King’s Lynn Roger Warnes Transport Stars host A47 rivals Leicester at the Adrian Flux Arena, but they will do so without four key riders.

The Stars are chasing a place in the end of season play-offs and a win on Thursday would put them back into a top four position after dropping down to fifth place in the table on Monday night. With five more fixtures left to race this month, the Stars need to put points on the board.

Captain Niels-Kristian Iversen and Kenneth Bjerre (pictured) are the only main body team members fit and ready to take on the Lions this week with Ashley Morris continuing his unbroken run in the team at reserve.

Rob Lyon’s side will be missing heat leaders Robert Lambert and Vaclav Milik on Thursday night with both on the sidelines injured, as is Lewis Kerr. Nicklas Porsing is also absent for the fixture as he rides in Sweden on the same night.

Lyon and Young Stars team manager Dale Allitt have been working hard behind the scenes to secure guests for the meeting. Poole’s Dakota North comes into the Stars team in place of Milik and will ride at number five. Edinburgh’s in-form racer Kevin Wolbert will ride at number two in place of Porsing, while Carl Wilkinson takes the place of Kerr at reserve.

The Stars will use rider replacement for Lambert at number three in the team on Thursday with every other Stars rider able to take an extra ride.

The Lions, led by Grand Prix star Jason Doyle, are also missing riders on Thursday night with Sam Masters, Josh Auty and Simon Lambert all on the injury list. Leicester have brought in Kevin Doolan, Steven Worrall and Ben Morley to guest ride against the Stars.

Gates will open at 6pm on Thursday with the parade taking place at 7.30pm.

Stars: 1 Niels-Kristian Iversen (C), 2 Kevin Wolbert (G), 3 Robert Lambert R/R, 4 Kenneth Bjerre, 5 Dakota North (G), 6 Carl Wilkinson (G), 7 Ashley Morris.

Lions: 1 Jason Doyle (C), 2 Kevin Doolan (G), 3 Grzegorz Walasek, 4 Szymon Wozniak, 5 Piotr Swiderski, 6 Steven Worrall (G), 7 Ben Morley (G).