Home   Sport   Article

King's Lynn rider vows there will be “no repeat of” this year’s disappointing campaign

More news, no ads


King’s Lynn Stars heat leader Richard Lawson says there will be “no repeat of” this year’s disappointing speedway campaign.

The outstanding Lawson, who picked up two awards at the club’s recent end-of-season presentations, knows the make-up of the 2022 Minors & Brady Stars top five and is confident the one-to-seven will not finish bottom of the SGB Premiership table again.

The 35 year-old Stars number one was grateful the promotion at the Adrian Flux Arena have involved him in the team building discussions this autumn and winter. Including himself, three riders have been revealed for next year.

Richard Lawson. (48805215)
Richard Lawson. (48805215)

He said: “They were quite open with me as far as what they recommended.

“I called out one rider in particular who rode the King’s Lynn track very well as an away rider this year. The club agreed with me.

“I know the top five we have got for next season and there will be no repeat of 2021, definitely, absolutely not.

“We underperformed this year in a lot of the meetings.”

Despite this inability to all click at the same time the Cumbrian found a warm welcome from the West Norfolk supporters when joining as a replacement for Craig Cook in May.

“The fans would come up and shake your hand and say ‘well done, thanks for the effort’. That means a lot.”

The former Wolverhampton, Workington, Peterborough, Lakeside, Somerset, Glasgow and Ipswich racer is open to the captaincy if he was offered it.

On the hypothetical question of whether he would like to be skipper, Lawson replied: “It’s nice to be asked. I was skipper with Lakeside in the Elite League and in the Championship, plus Glasgow in the Championship, so have done it a couple of times.

“If I was going to do it, you’d want to do it properly as it comes with no reward.

“There’s no extra credit behind it and no extra money. It’s thankless. When it goes bad it can be tough. I have been captain in the past and it is not as easy as signing the team sheet.”

He had originally signed for Plymouth in 2022’s Championship but revealed: “That deal has fallen through. There were just a couple of issues on my part. I’ve signed for someone else but can’t announce it yet.”

Trophy list for Lynn’s 2021 season: Rider of the year and team manager’s rider of the year: Richard Lawson. Most entertaining rider: Thomas Jorgensen. Most improved rider: Connor Mountain. Riders’ rider of the year: Lewis Kerr.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More