Home   Sport   Article

King's Lynn boss left incensed by late penalty award for Southend in National League defeat

More news, no ads


King's Lynn Town manager Tommy Widdrington was left incensed by the penalty decision which saw his side beaten 2-1 at Roots Hall on Friday night.

Southend took all three points with a controversial winner from the spot after referee Lloyd Wood adjudged Ross Barrows to have brought Sam Dalby in the box.

It left the Linnets pointless so far in 2022 and rueing their luck with decisions for the third consecutive game.

King's Lynn Town manager Tommy Widdrington. (54399633)
King's Lynn Town manager Tommy Widdrington. (54399633)

Lynn broke the deadlock midway through the first half with debutant Harry Phipps heading home before Matt Dennis equalised for Blues three minutes into the second half.

Southend's penalty came deep into stoppage time and after the match an angry Widdrington said: "I felt we deserved to go away with something from the game.

"I think a point would have been fair from both manager's points of view, we've had chances to win it and they've had chances to win it.

"But the game is taken away from you by a decision that only one person in the ground has seen, when I thought it was possibly one of the best tackles I've seen all season.

"The lad who has made the tackle has been impeccable throughout the game. I don't think he's made a foul in the game actually and I know that he would have not gone to ground to make it if he knew that he wasn't going to win the ball.

"If you look at the way the ball was rolling towards the goal, the ball ends up nearly going out for a throw-in so Ross has clearly won the ball.

"There's no argument about it for me, but how do you get a decision like that wrong?

Even the match-winner Dalby, who has now scored the winning goals against Lynn in both National League clashes this season, admitted that the hosts were fortunate with the late penalty award.

The Blues' striker was honest enough to admit he thought Linnets defender Barrows had won the ball when challenging him in the box.

“I’ve got to admit it wasn’t a great decision from the ref,” Dalby told the Southend Echo.

“I thought he got the ball but whether he’s come through me I’m not sure, I’d have to see it again."

Linnets boss Widdrington was sent-off in the aftermath of the penalty award after being accused of aiming something towards the fourth official.

"If I'm going to get sent-off for a flicking a gel packet at the fourth official which has been dropped then there's something blatantly wrong with the game," he said.

"If he puts that in his report then that is tantamount to ridiculous as I didn't do anything other than that."

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More