King’s Lynn Stars open home campaign by hammering Lakeside

King's Lynn Stars vs Lakeside Action ANL-160327-113802009
King's Lynn Stars vs Lakeside Action ANL-160327-113802009
Have your say

King’s Lynn Stars 51

Lakeside Hammers 39

The Stars opened their home Elite League season by gaining revenge on the Hammers at the Adrian Flux Arena in the second half of their double-header on Good Friday.

The Roger Warnes Transport Stars had a 56-36 defeat earlier at Lakeside.

Great Dane Niels-Kristian Iversen led the way for Lynn with 13 points to make it 27 on the day.

Teenager Robert Lambert, who scored a 16+2 paid maximum in this fixture last March, was second top scorer in a good team display.

Iversen won the opening heat in a 4-2 result in favour of the hosts.

The visitors had Stars asset Lewis Kerr, who celebrated his 26th birthday, making his debut at reserve following his winter switch.

In Heat 2’s battle of the reserves Lynn’s Carl Wilkinson made the gate but Kerr used local track knowledge to overtake within half a lap and hold on to victory to level the scores.

Hammers were heading for a 5-1 when Kerr’s engine appeared to blow at the beginning of the third lap while in the lead, and Heat 4 ended up by being shared.

Kim Nilsson was Lakeside’s top scorer earlier during the afternoon but could make little impression as many of the Hammers struggled.

The first maximum race win went to Lynn in Heat 5 when Wilkinson glided around the outside to take the lead, backed by Kai Huckenbeck who had a fine home league debut.

Their second 5-1 came as Lambert held off Nilsson in the first half of the race and followed home Iversen.

Lynn skipper Rory Schlein sped into the lead but found trouble coming out of bend two and fell, to be excluded by referee Dale Entwistle in Heat 6.

However Lambert and Schlein slammed in a third maximum prior to the interval and Lakeside sent Lewis Bridger in on a Heat 11 tactical ride.

But Bridger could only manage third place as Iversen and Huckenbeck recorded another 5-1.

Andreas Jonsson ended GP rival Iversen’s unbeaten run with a couple of late consolation wins.

Stars: Niels-K Iversen 13, Kai Huckenbeck 7+2, Rory Schlein 3+1, Mads Korneliussen 9+1, Robert Lambert 9+2, Carl Wilkinson 5, Lewis Rose 5+1.

Hammers: Andreas Jonsson 12, Piotr Swiderski 3, Kim Nilsson 3, Richard Lawson 8+1, Lewis Bridger 4, Robert Mear 3+1, Lewis Kerr 6.