Home   Sport   Article

King's Lynn's Lambert is crowned British champion

Lynn Stars skipper Robert Lambert rounded off a dream week by being crowned the new British Champion.

Fresh from helping team Great Britain to a silver medal in the Speedway of Nations, the 20-year-old completed a stunning six-ride maximum to claim his first senior title.

Robert Lambert (2425574)
Robert Lambert (2425574)

Lambert made a super getaway to ease to victory in his opening ride - but was pure box office from that moment on.

He had to plug away on the inside line in Heat Seven going from third to first before turning on the style thereafter.

He was involved in an enthralling tussle with Three-time Champ Chris Harris with the duo exchanging places on several occasions before eventually standing his ground to make it three wins out of three.

But just as he looked set to be beaten for the first time, ‘Ruthless’ produced a breathtaking move to round seven-time Championship victor Scott Nicholls on the final two bends.

That assured him of a direct route through to the Grand Final with one race to spare, but he still dug deep to smartly get by 2016 Champion Danny King to wrap up a 15-point maximum from his programmed rides.

And despite coming under some immense pressure from home favourite Dan Bewley, Lambert prevailed to also secure a wild card spot in the British Grand Prix at Cardiff’s Principality Stadium on July 21.

King’s Lynn’s Lewis Kerr also battled hard, but only ended with five points to show for his efforts.

Scores: Robert Lambert 15, Craig Cook 11, Dan Bewley 10, Jason Garrity 10, Scott Nicholls 10, Kyle Howarth 10, Rory Schlein 9, Danny King 8, Chris Harris 7, Josh Auty 7, Richard Lawson 6, Lewis Kerr 5, Adam Ellis 3, Steve Worrall 3, Richie Worrall 3, Ashley Morris 3, Jack Smith (res) 0, Kyle Bickley (res) 0.

Semi-final: Bewley, Garrity, Nicholls, Howarth.

Final: Lambert, Bewley, Cook, Garrity.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More