Home   Sport   Article

Dashing Dane fails to drop a point in East Anglian derby clash at Adrian Flux Arena

More news, no ads


Premiership Supporters’ Cup

King's Lynn Stars 52 Ipswich 38

The Poultec Stars picked up their first home win of the season thanks to paid maximum top scorer Thomas Jorgensen, writes Peter Woodhouse.

The dashing Dane did not drop a point to an opponent in five rides as Lynn triumphed in their first home derby with the Witches for many years.

Thomas Jorgensen.. (8141265)
Thomas Jorgensen.. (8141265)

Home skipper Robert Lambert was warned in the opening heat to stay still at the tapes, but the British champion, swiftly followed by teammate Erik Riss, stormed out at the restart. This race was awarded a Lynn 5-1 by referee Mick Bates after visiting No.1 Chris Harris hit the turn one fence hard.

Jake Allen took reserves’ race two in front of Lynn’s Michael Palm Toft to post a Witches 4-2, and the away side immediately bagged a 5-1 through Krystian Pieszczek – who won the U21 world title here in 2016 – and Richard Lawson.

Swift Heat 4 and 5 winning times from Jorgensen and Ty Proctor put the Saddlebow side in the lead.

But Lambert, trying too hard in attacking on the outside, drifted from a possible first to third in a second Witches 5-1 via Danny King and Cameron Heeps. Palm Toft and Jorgensen immediately blasted back with a maximum to regain the lead.

Palm Toft replaced reserve partner Kasper Andersen in Heat 8 and it paid off with a third home 5-1 thanks to Riss muscling into second as Lynn led by six at the halfway point

Kerr bagged his welcome first win in the first shared outing of the night to leave it at 30-24, while the Riss/Lambert show in a fourth Stars 5-1 rammed home the advantage.

Ipswich drafted in Heeps and Allen for Heat 13 but this went Lynn’s way 4-2 to wrap up the win at 46-32.

It was the first glimpse we got at the Adrian Flux Arena of the Heat 14 supporters' race where fans vote which riders they'd like to see in action. Nominations were revealed after Heat 10 for fans to pick via Twitter – Lynn: Riss, Lambert, Kerr, Palm Toft; Ipswich: King, Lawson, Heeps, Allen. Kerr and ‘MPT’ got the Stars nods; Heeps and King for Ipswich.

A Jorgensen win and Lambert third in the final race meant new temporary team manager Peter Schroeck bagged his first Lynn home success

Stars: Robert Lambert 10+1, Erik Riss 7+2, Thomas Jorgensen 14+1, Lewis Kerr 6, Ty Proctor 4, Michael Palm Toft 11, Kasper Andersen 0.

Witches: Chris Harris 3+1, David Bellego 2, Danny King 7+1, Krystian Pieszczek 3, Richard Lawson 4+1, Cameron Heeps 10+1, Jake Allen 9.

Fastest time: Palm Toft, Heat 7, 58.71secs.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More