Home   Sport   Article

Veterans success for West Norfolk competitor

Lynn Mountain Bike Club member Paul Ashby returned to winning ways in the second round of the Thetford Racing Winter Series.

Held in the normally peaceful and tranquil West Bilney woods, Ashby claimed victory in the veterans class of the three-hour race as more than 300 cross country mountain bike competitors did battle.

After overnight rain the Steve Collins specially-designed course was a little sticky but rode really well and with the new pit finishing the race being transformed into a two-foot drop, boding well for future events.

The three-hour categories started at 10am with a one-and-a-half mile start loop and three riders pulled away for a slight lead.

Lynn MTB’s very own Lauris Liepins was in the lead trio, with fellow club mates Ashby and Dave Penny in close proximity.

Liepins lost touch with senior category winner Andrew Cockburn but finished eight laps in a superb second place.

The veteran class was led most of the race by Dan Howe but, after a nasty crash, the experienced Ashby hit the front and opened up a lead by more than a minute to take a well-deserved win.

Howe remounted to finish runner-up and KLMTB’s Penny finished an excellent third.

With more than 150 riders taking the hour-and-a-half categories, 104 being veterans, the first single track section proved a challenge but was politely and skilfully dealt with by all of the riders.

Michael Cubitt was the best-placed KLMTB member with a forceful 15th in the veteran class.

Other KLMTB members: 3hr veteran Mark Hollingworth 10th, Linley Gales 11th, Paul Quantrill 16th, Richard Hallett 28th and Roger Seals 41st.

3hr Senior: Thomas Dixon 16th.

1.5 hour veteran: Kevin Lanchester 52nd, Matthew Mantle 60th, Shaun Green 69th.

1.5 hour senior: Luke Rudd 25th.

1.5hour junior: Jack Watts 7th, Colin Mantle 8th.

Lynn Mountain Bike Club award winners club chairman Steve Munden and coach Dave Webster. (6107422)
Lynn Mountain Bike Club award winners club chairman Steve Munden and coach Dave Webster. (6107422)

Lynn MTB held its annual awards night at the Kings Arms in Shouldham.

Lauris Liepins claimed a clean sweep of senior awards.

They included time trial, quickest lap and most improved rider, beating other nominees Jonny Sayers and Shaun Green.

Junior awards – 8 years and under, time trials: 1 Harriet Harrison, 2 Freddie Withers. Most improved: Connor Hallett.

9 years and over, time trials: Joe Allen 1st, Arthur Buckler 2nd. Most improved: Alex Seals and Lewis Hallett.

Well done to all involved. The next round of the Thetford Racing Winter series, supported by KLMTB and sponsored by Revel Outdoors (Bury St Edmunds), is on January 13 at Brandon Country Park.

Please visit: klmtbracing.com for more details.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More