Home   Sport   Article

Lynn Stars go top after sinking Pirates


King’s Lynn Stars 58 Poole Pirates 32

Lynn warmed up for a busy week by winning Wednesday’s clash of the speedway titans as they went top in front of a big crowd.

This eagerly awaited second versus first encounter at the Adrian Flux Arena between the two SGB Premiership form sides, who were both on 41 points before racing began – but the hosts have three meetings in hand on the Pirates.

Lynn look odds-on for a top position finish and this win also meant the Tru Plant Stars guaranteed a title-deciding play-off spot, with Robert Lambert again top-scoring from five rides.

Lynn, chasing an eighth successive home win, notched maximums in their first three races from Robert Lambert and Erik Riss, Michael Palm Toft/Simon Lambert and Ty Proctor/Thomas Jorgensen to lead 15-3.

Chris Harris broke that sequence with a Heat 4 success but Jorgensen and Proctor immediately restored that 5-1 run. Palm Toft and Niels Kristian Iversen slammed in 5-1 number five to make it 31-11.

Poole didn’t manage a heat advantage until Heat 9 via surprise heat winner Kacper Woryna; 37-17.

Lynn Stars picture (2169416)
Lynn Stars picture (2169416)

Lynn shrugged off a Heat 10 tapes exclusion for Riss – whose replacement Michael Palm Toft was last – but skipper Lambert became Lynn’s eighth race winner.

A 4-2 and a sixth 5-1 from Proctor/Simon Lambert sealed the points before a Heat 12 interval when some vintage bike racing was held.

Captain Lambert sealed a superb individual and team night by winning during a Heat 15 4-2.

On Monday the Stars begin their final three meetings of the regular season in three days at Wolverhampton.

Tuesday sees Lynn at Somerset and on Wednesday they entertain Leicester which will be a double-header (7pm start) as they have to host the Lions twice.

King’s Lynn Stars: Robert Lambert 14, Erik Riss 5+1, Ty Proctor 10+1, Thomas Jorgensen 8+1, Niels Kristian Iversen 6+2, Michael Palm Toft 8+1, Simon Lambert 7+2. Fastest time: Heat 10 – R.Lambert, 58.21 seconds.

Poole Pirates: Brady Kurtz 6, Josh Grajczonek 6, Richie Worrall 7, Nicolai Klindt rider replacement, Chris Harris 7, Kacper Woryna 6+2, Frederik Jakobsen 0.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More