Home   Sport   Article

Lynn Stars bounce back in style

King’s Lynn Stars 58 Rye House Rockets 32

The depleted Tru Plant Stars bounced back in style and moved off the bottom of the table in this vital speedway meeting on Monday.

Six 5-1 maximums earned them a morale-boosting win at the Adrian Flux Arena despite losing teenager Kasper Andersen to injury.

Lynn Stars picture (2169416)
Lynn Stars picture (2169416)

Team boss Dale Allitt has called the current injury-affected situation the most difficult spell the side has faced this season, with three straight defeats before tonight.

Vice-captain Ty Proctor was ruled out of this Premiership clash between the bottom two clubs as his shoulder injury and needed a few more days rest.

Then in Heat 7 home Danish prospect Andersen fell heavily during first bend bunching, and was checked by paramedics for suspected concussion before withdrawing from the action.

Lynn bagged successive maximums in Heats 5 and 6 via Thomas Jorgensen and Michael Palm Toft, then Niels-Kristian Iversen and Lewis Kerr, to forge 24-12 ahead. Kerr, who has moved up from reserve to the main body of the team, and Palm-Toft added another 5-1 in Heat 8 to go 16 points up at midway.

The superb Palm-Toft beat ex-British champion Chris Harris to make it 45-27 and seal victory with three races to spare.

Monday’s raceday programme was a special souvenir edition brochure dedicated to Stars skipper Robert Lambert, who weighed in with a paid maximum against Rye House, and last week was crowned British champion while securing his place in the World Under-21 Championship series.

Fans grabbed a photograph with Lambert and his British Championship trophy at the stadium before the clash between the A10 rivals.

Lynn’s next meeting is at Swindon on Thursday.

King’s Lynn Stars: Niels-Kristian Iversen 7+2, Lewis Kerr 10+1, Ty Proctor rider replacement, Thomas Jorgensen 11, Robert Lambert 14+1, Kasper Andersen 1 (withdrawn), Michael Palm Toft 15+3. No.8: Taylor Hampshire 0. Fastest time: Lambert, Heat 4, 58.34secs.

Rye House Rockets: Krzysztof Kasprzak 2, Aaron Summers 2, Chris Harris 10+1, Stuart Robson 5+2, Scott Nicholls 7+1, Nikolaj B. Jakobsen 6+1, Max Clegg 0.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More