Home   Sport   Article

King's Lynn Stars have three representatives in 2021 British Final

King’s Lynn Stars will have the luxury of three 2021 British Final representatives – Richard Lawson, captain Lewis Kerr and new arrival Ben Barker – at Belle Vue’s National Speedway Stadium on Monday.

West Norfolk rider Kerr said: ”This will be my fifth one in a row, I think. I started in 2017, then did 2018 when Robert (Lynn’s Lambert) won it.”

Kerr gathered seven points last year for a tenth-place finish at a rainy Manchester in late September, while Lawson finished second in the qualifying heats with 11 points and went straight to the Grand Final, where he was second on the podium to Rory Schlein.

Lewis Kerr. Picture: Ian Burt. (47035643)
Lewis Kerr. Picture: Ian Burt. (47035643)

This year many of the usual suspects will be in contention, including seven-times winner Scott Nicholls, his Peterborough team-mate Chris Harris, plus plenty of former Minors & Brady Stars racers in Craig Cook, Richie Worrall, Steve Worrall and Rory Schlein, the reigning champion.

Kerr said: “I can’t remember much about past ones. Last year I just recall how much worse conditions were because I did three meetings at Belle Vue in 2020. To be honest they all get jumbled up.”

On team-mate-turned-rival for the night Lawson, the Dersingham racer said: “Richard is riding well at the minute and it’s an open field where anyone on their day can win it.

“I made the semi-finals one year, I think in 2019. I’d like to win it, but I aim to get to the semis again, and go from there.

“I’ve started well this year but had a bit of a dip. I did a few things to the bike set-up, changed a few things with clutches and gone back to basics with the set-up.

“My confidence is high going into it and I’m sure it will be the same for Richard. It’s a track I struggled with for a couple of years ago but now I’ve got a good set-up, hopefully.”

The 31-year-old continued: “Yes, big time Dan Bewley will be a favourite being a home track rider. Being a small, light person helps around Belle Vue. I’m sure he’s the favourite.”

Line-up: 1. Scott Nicholls, 2. Rory Schlein, 3. Edward Kennett, 4. Ben Barker, 5. Craig Cook, 6. Kyle Howarth, 7. Danny King, 8. Chris Harris, 9. Dan Bewley, 10. Richie Worrall, 11. Lewis Kerr, 12. Adam Ellis, 13. Charles Wright, 14. Anders Rowe, 15. Steve Worrall, 16. Richard Lawson.

Meeting format: 16 riders compete in 20 qualifying heats - the action starts from 7.30pm.

Top two from the heats go directly to the Grand Final, with those placed third-sixth racing in a semi-final.

First and second from the semi progress to the Grand Final, the winner of which is crowned 2021 British Champion.

British Final Roll of Honour from the past decade (key: date, first place, second, third).

2010: Chris Harris, Scott Nicholls, Ben Barker.

2011: Scott Nicholls, Chris Harris, Tai Woffinden.

2012: Scott Nicholls, Chris Harris, Tai Woffinden.

2013: Tai Woffinden, Scott Nicholls, Chris Harris.

2014: Tai Woffinden, Craig Cook, Ben Barker.

2015: Tai Woffinden, Craig Cook, Danny King.

2016: Danny King, Craig Cook, Robert Lambert.

2017: Craig Cook, Steve Worrall, Rory Schlein.

2018: Robert Lambert, Dan Bewley, Craig Cook.

2019: Charles Wright, Danny King, Craig Cook.

2020: Rory Schlein, Richard Lawson, Jason Crump.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More