Home   Sport   Article

Lynn Stars triumph in last-heat thriller


King's Lynn Stars 46 Poole Pirates 44

Skipper Robert Lambert ensured the Stars began three vital home matches in eight days with an astonishing last-heat deciding victory on Monday night.

Lambert beat the superb new away signing Chris Harris to win a thrilling final heat after trailing most of the clash.

Lynn Stars picture (2169416)
Lynn Stars picture (2169416)

Poole got their noses in front from the off with an opening 4-2at the Adrian Flux Arena thanks to race winner Brady Kurtz and Lynn could not peg the Pirates back until levelling with a Robert Lambert/ Niels-Kristian Iversen maximum in Heat 13 to make it 39-39.

Jason Garrity made his Stars debut after coming in for broken leg victim Lewis Kerr – injuries suffered to the popular West Norfolk racer and to reserve Kasper Anderson meant the Leicester home clash was abandoned more than a fortnight ago.

The former British Under-19 champion, a multiple National League trophy winner in his Buxton days, recently finished a 28-day spell with his local club Belle Vue.

In Garrity’s pits corner was Lynn legend and former world champion, Michael Lee. The Droylsden-born rider scored two points in his Heat-2 Lynn opening race.

Stars team manager Dale Allitt targeted his troops to win their remaining home meetings of the campaign – and they battled to the first stage of this mission.

During the interval a collection was made for the injured Kerr. The club’s end of season party will be on Friday, October 19.

Lynn: Niels-Kristian Iversen 8+1, Michael Palm Toft 5, Ty Proctor 4, Thomas Jorgensen 11, Robert Lambert 14, Simon Lambert 1+1, Jason Garrity 3+1. Fastest time: R. Lambert, Heat 7, 58.56 seconds.

Poole: Brady Kurtz 7, Josh Grajczonek 8, Kacper Woryna 3+3, Richie Worrall 7+1, Chris Harris 9, Frederik Jakobsen 1, Nicolai Klindt 9+1. Fastest time: Harris, Heat 4, 59.12 seconds.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More