Annie picks up Ryston Runners Junior Athlete of the Year award

Trophy winners at the Ryston Runners Awards Night
Trophy winners at the Ryston Runners Awards Night
Have your say

Ryston Runners AC members were mainly occupied over the weekend reflecting on the past year’s achievements at their annual awards dinner.

Main award recipients were –

Men’s fastest marathon: Matt Pyatt. Women’s fastest marathon: Heather Beattie. Outstanding road runner: Callum Stanforth. Cross country handicap: Chris Balmer. Robert Wood SAL: Dan Yellop. Laura Wood SAL: Lorena Latisaite. Jack Wilde track and field athlete: Gaye Clarke. Junior track: Hannah Brown. Junior field: Naomi Darkins. Junior endeavour: Holly Chen. Junior Athlete of the Year: Annie Rooks. Chairman’s County cup: Andy Smith. Best newcomer: Warren Armstrong. Izzy endeavour: Sue Smith. Tinker Taylor Ambassador: Cath Duhig. Most improved: Nic Bensley. Committee: Lesley Robins. Most injured: Adam Howard. Chairman’s outstanding performance: David Lane. Bridget Wood Clubman of the Year: Rebecca Tuff.

There were also eight club Road Running Standards awards presented – Copper: Andy Harrod. Bronze: Wendy Fisher, Mark Doughty. Silver: Jeff Reed, Karen Wood. Gold: Kevin Howlett. Diamond: Pete Johnson, Matt Pyatt (Carl Manning also achieved gold but was not present).

Hancock Silver Hares were presented to members who had surpassed the five miles in 30 minutes (or equivalent Age Graded time) target, and also to Robert Simmonds, for holding 25 concurrent club records, and Jeremy Navrady, for completing 25 marathons.

Those present who had been in any way involved with Ryston’s outright win of the Southern Athletics League Division 3 (NE) were feted by the assembled company, and every presentation was recorded by Tim Smith, who has been so important all year in supplying such an excellent photographic record.

Organised by new social secretary Helen Sewell, and MC’d for the first time by new chairman Gareth Hunt, the evening was acknowledged as a success.