Guest breaks King’s Lynn club’s course record at Fincham

Steve Neill.
Steve Neill.
Have your say

Busy Kay Burgess of King’s Lynn Cycling Club competed on Saturday in the KLCC Open 25 TT on the B25/33 near Fincham.

She finished in a time of 1.13.07, coming 48th out of a field of 52 riders. This race was also part of qualifying for points in the Women’s Eastern Racing League she is racing in this season.



On Sunday she competed in another 25m time trial at The Bedfordshire Road Cycling Club Open on course F1B/25 at Tempsford in a field of 60. She finished one second off her season’s personal best in 1.10.37.

Matthew Senter came third in a field of 60 riders in The Dringy’s Road Race 46 miles in Edmonthorpe near Melton Mowbray on Sunday.

He said: “I felt strong throughout and conditions were good. Two riders broke away from the pack where I remained. I sprinted to the line to win the bunch sprint which I am very pleased with.”

Many riders achieved best times with conditions described as being warm and breezy at the club Tottenhill 10-mile TT evening on August 5. A total of 24 riders participated.

The fastest was the in-form Senter, his time being 21.25, followed closely by Steve Neill in 22.24.

Other KLCC riders’ times: Simon Hardy 23.49, James Senter 23.52, Phil Seaman 25.06, Chris Levy 25.15, Steve Green 25.21, Ben Smith 25.35, Simon Howling 25.44, Jamie McRann 25.52, Emma Thompson 26.18, Robert Florance 26.40, Ming Lo 27.25, Trevor Marshall 27.26, Francesca Hall 28.11, Alec Marshall (junior) 28.58, Jo Brooks 29.58, and Pauline Sparrow 33.56. Guest riders: Ben Keeley Team Velovelocity 22.31, Freddy Pett Team VO2 Bikes 22.53, Myles Higby Team VO2 Bikes 23.34, Tiago Fougo Team VO2 Bikes 23.44, Phil Large Iceni Velo 24.26, and Chris Harrison VCM 27.31.



KLCC was well represented having 13 riders out of 52 battle in a very gentle breeze that was described as no help or hindrance, making the going tough overall with sticky and humid conditions.

It was also a qualifying event for points in the Women’s Eastern Racing League in which KLCC’s Kay Burgess competes.

The winner in a new course record went to Daniel Bloy in a time of 53.39 from Team, followed by Gary Empson in 54.17 from Anglia Velo and third Neil Palmer in 55.47 representing Spalding CC. The fastest KLCC rider was Steve Neill in 59.49 in 19th position.

Other KLCC times: Simon Hardy 1.01.43, James Senter 1.02.29, Marcus Hopkins 1.03.54, Jamie McRann 1.06.42, Chris Levy 1.07.19, Steven Green 1.07.36, Ivan Carr 1.08.22, Kay Burgess 1.13.07, Neil Holland 1.13.18, Kersten Muller 1.17.02, Lewis Fulljames 1.17.20, Jo Brooks DNF.

KLCC provided refreshments and cakes and raised over £100 to be divided by chosen charities they support.

l KLCC will be hosting a Fun Day on September 5 for members, friends and family or anyone wanting to try a 10-mile TT on the club’s Tottenhill course. Just turn up with your road bike with a bright rear light at Tottenhill Village Hall. As a guest rider, there will be no charge.

There will be stalls, refreshments and a barbecue with monies raised for a chosen charity. More details on the website www.kingslynn