King’s Lynn Motor Club looks forward to 40th anniversary of classic car run

editorial image
Share this article
Have your say

Lynn Motor Club applauded its trophy and award winners and looked back on a busy year at its combined presentation evening and annual meeting.

Chairman Mark Banham outlined the calendar of events and said that it was encouraging to see them so well supported.

“The 12-car rallies have been very successful this year and have been mostly oversubscribed,” he said.

“As well as lots of regular members we have occasionally had new people coming along to these so we must be running events that people want to do, so well done to the organisers for putting them on. These have also been well supported by marshals from the club so also well done to them for coming out on the dark evenings month after month.”

The club’s main off-road rallies, including its charity stages event, had to be cancelled because the regular venue, Sculthorpe, was not available but the club was involved in the Snetterton stage rally as part of the Anglia Motorsport Club in February.

This was a round of the highly rated and well supported Motorsport News Circuit rally championship. This new event attracted 83 entries.

Mark, who was deputy clerk of the course on the day, said that as well as doing the club a power of good on the publicity front it benefitted by a £750 share of the proceeds.

He thanked everyone involved including marshals, officials, competitors and event sponsor Hylton Gott, and said that it looked as if the club would be there again in 2018.

He reminded members that a landmark event is coming up this summer with the 40th anniversary of the classic car run.

Award winners: Clubnight Overall Championship, Paul Haylock; 12-car rally expert crew, John Peterson and Brian Cammack; 12-car semi-experts, Spencer Horsburgh and Peter Horsburgh; 12-car novice crew, Neil Kerry and Rob Palmer; beginners, Richard Felton and Gill Beauchamp; Off-Road Championship, Edward Haylock; Clubnight Overall Ladies Championship, June Pollard; Outside Club On-Road Driver, Mark Banham; Outside Club On-Road Navigator, David Bell; Overall Stage Driver, Steve Tilburn; Overall Stage Navigator, Matthew Smalley; Marshals Championship, David Pollard; P and A Trophy, Rob Palmer and Neil Kerry; organisers’ award, Adrian Cunnington (Classic Rally); Suntester award for services to the club, Stephen Tilburn.