King’s Lynn reach Barnard Trophy final

Sport news from the Lynn News,, @lynnnewssport on Twitter
Sport news from the Lynn News,, @lynnnewssport on Twitter
Share this article
Have your say

King’s Lynn Golf Club have reached the final of the Barnard Trophy after beating Royal Cromer at Weston Park.

Paul Arnold and Rafiq Rattansi got the team off to a brilliant start but this would not have got Lynn through without the fighting spirit shown by the other three pairs, who at one time were a total of nine holes down to Royal Cromer.

The team were able to trim that lead to a total of just two holes in the end allowing Lynn a four-hole victory.

Arnold and Rattansi beat J. Chapman and D. Patrick 6 up, while Arthur Vanderloo and Mike Wilson lost by 1 hole to M. Allbrook/I. Hogg. Richard Brown and Blair Rule managed to halve their match with P. Jones/B. Peel, and finally Maurice Lawlor and Ben Hornigold lost by 1 hole to S. Fuller/G. Wilson. These latter three matches were very close and could have gone either way. The final is on Wednesday, September 2 against Weston Park

Men’s Medal: Div. 1: 1 P. Arnold nett 68, 2 K. Heath nett 69ocb, 3 I. Ismail nett 69, 4 S. Harris nett 70, 5 A. Crown nett 71ocb. Div. 2: 1 R. Banks nett 69, 2 G. Evans nett 69, 3 N. Catledine nett 72ocb, 4 M. Richardson nett 72ocb.

Men’s 9 hole qualifying competition: 1 P. Luther 20pts, 2 D. Clark 19ptsocb, 3 M. Knights nett 19pts.

Friendly v Luffenham Heath (H): David Lawman & I. McAllister beat Tony Law & Anthony Wharton 5/4, Dennis Barter & Robin Olley beat Len Smith & Recordon 3/2, Blair Rule & Richard Ambrose beat Richard Murmann & Mike Sheridan 4/3, Howard Maylard & Paul Arnold beat Jerry Simmons & Mike Sheridan 4/3, Mike Collison & Peter Key beat Neil Robertson & John Hanlon 1 up, Jamie Greenfield & Ian Hardy beat Peter Chinnery & Dermot O’Neill 5/3. Lynn 6 Luffenham Heath 0.

Seniors Friendly v Peterborough Milton (H): Brian Steward & Paul Clay beat Terry Locks & Mike Williamson 5/3, Alan Elliott & Trevor Hindell beat Robert Lakin & Graham Beer 2/1, Eddie Coleman & Paul Westcott beat Peter Glover & Malcolm Wakefield 4/3, Paul Millikin & Dennis Barter beat Tony Dyer & Sut Panchi 7/5, Ted Wilkerson & Neil O’Hara beat Bob Streeton & Russell Laxton 1 up, Mike Frary & John Hewett lost to Tom Streeton & Mike Goodall 2/1, Malcolm Ashby & Alan Jones beat Mick McKendrick & Graham Goodall 2 up, Tony Burt & Peter Key beat Jim Millar & Stuart McKenzie 9/7. Lynn 7 Peterborough 1.

Friendly v Ely (A): Brian Steward & Ian McAllister beat John Papworth & Roger Day 2/1, Neil O’Hara & Mike Frary lost Tony Newell & Ron Grant 5/4, Arthur Vanderloo & Paul Millikin lost to Barry Carter & Richard Hough 2 down, Chris Cavill & Ishak Ismail lost to Barry Harrison & Bill Petts 2/1, Blair Rule & Derek Stringer beat Bob Rain & Ted Fenn 2/1, David Taylor & Howard Maylard beat John Neat & Mike Child 3/2, Michael Vanderloo & Eddie Coleman lost to David Mew & Jim Pugh 6/4, Ken Dickerson & Mike Fendley lost to Nick Pallister & Colin Spencer 7/6. Lynn 3 Ely 5.

Ladies, Golf Foundation Brooch & EWGA Medal: 1 Alyson Wise nett 76 ocb, 2 Lydia Brice nett 76, 3 Pat Simpson nett 77 ocb.