Matt finish sees Ryston’s Pyatt take best local runner award at King’s Lynn

Matt Pyatt receives the Duncan Gooderson Trophy.
Matt Pyatt receives the Duncan Gooderson Trophy.
Have your say

The Bespak Grand East Anglia Run enjoyed far better weather and record entries this year.

With five finishers in the top 25, the Ryston Runners club took the team honours.

RR athletes competed in the annual Grand East Anglia Run & Mini GEAR.

RR athletes competed in the annual Grand East Anglia Run & Mini GEAR.

Victorious were Matt Pyatt (11th in a time of 33:28, a 30-second course personal best), James O’Neill (13th/33:35), Callum Stanforth (15th/34:38) and Nic Bensley (18th/4th M40/35:11).

A second Ryston team, comprising Warren Armstrong (24th/7thM40/35:31), Adam Howard (55th/37:05 – 40 sec PB) Pete Johnson (71st/1stM60/38:05) and John O’Neill (81st/38:45) took third.

Ryston’s women cleaned up their team competition too, with Amy Chapman (41:20, PB), Nicky Roger (6thW40/41:28/70+sec PB), Lorena Latisaite (41:56) and Lesley Robins (10thW40/43:34).

Individually, Ryston had to settle for just four straight podium places: the indomitable Pete Johnson dominated the M60s, and Jo Isbill (W50), Helen Sewell (W70) and Jeff Reed (M70) occupied the third places in their respective categories.

Additionally, Pyatt bagged the Duncan Gooderson Trophy for highest placed local runner for the second consecutive year.

In all Ryston closed seven women’s and nine men’s teams, with the following results in addition to those noted above.

Women – 4th: Jo Isbill (44:13 PB), Pauline Drewery (45:07), Geraldine Jordan (46:20, 13 min PB/4th W50), Julia Norman (46:15PB); 7th: Charlotte Barrett(46:39), Juliette Meek (46:53), Sarah Kimberley (47:38), Karen Wood (48:19/5thW50); 12th: Wendy Fisher (50:15PB/8thW50), Linda Marshall (50:43/9thW50 a great comeback after last year crashing into a hurdle), Emma Benefer (52:41),Sarah Partridge (54:07); 19th: Cheryl Brown (54:20), Fabia Pollard (55:29), Lucy Morley (58:11), Emma Thompson (58:54); 22nd: Katie Wilson (61:14), Sophy Tarsey (61:36, after organising a huge contingent, from St Edmunds Primary School in Mini GEAR), Gill Hart (62:52), Sharon Childs (62:53); 26th: Samantha Simper (62:53), Sue Tuff (63:28), Helen Sewell (68:00), Sue Smith (68:14).

Men – 11th: Martin Sheldrick (38:46), Stewart Robins (39:12), Dan Pratt (40:04), Steve Bowerman (40:17); 16th: Darren Easter (40:26), Tony Savage (41:01), Paul Keaney (41:28/8th JM, first 10K), Barry Smith (42:15); 25th: Graeme Leeson (43:10), Mark Doughty(43:25), James Plowright (44:44), David Marston (44:24, 10 min PB); 28th: Jerry Green (44:55), James Thompson (45:39), Audrius Jasiulaitis (46:36), Luke Gibson (48:46); 33rd: Chris Chapman (49:21), Peter Donger(49:43), Paul Carter (51:59); Paul Tarsey (52:24); 35th: Jeff Reed (53:34), Stuart Durham (52:52), Peter Drew(54:51), Martin Blackburn (52:18); 37th: Andy Harrod (55:59), Simon Tarling (56:25), Ivan Nunn (56:01), Mick Ennis (59:34/7thM70). David Lane, nursing a calf injury, also ran, supported by his partner Gill Hart, finishing with a chip time of 60:51.

As well as representing almost 30 per cent of the finishers, the Ryston club also provided a significant amount of the manpower necessary for the event to take place, including building and managing the start and finish, helping with timing and results, and marshalling.