Popular Shouldham race a success

Sport news from the Lynn News, lynnnews.co.uk/sport, @lynnnewssport on Twitter
Sport news from the Lynn News, lynnnews.co.uk/sport, @lynnnewssport on Twitter
Share this article
Have your say

King’s Lynn Mountain Bike Club hosted round four of the 5by3 Push Sport series at Shouldham Warren.

This was the second year Lynn MTB Club have hosted a round of the popular racing series at this venue.

The racing is specifically aimed at beginner or grass root riders. There were just under 80 competitors ranging from the under 12s to senior men and women.

The weather was cold and windy, however there was some shelter in the forest.

The showers accumulated to create a few sticky patches around the trails but generally the course was in good condition.

The lap distance was just under two miles with everything Shouldham has to offer, including short and steep climbs, technical single track and a few choice fire-road sections ideal for overtaking.

Around 25 per cent of the field came from KL MTB Club. In total 19 members entered the racing, producing some really good results.

During the men’s senior race, Rob Smithers had a heavy fall whilst sitting in fourth place causing him to retire.

All at the club wish Rob a speedy recovery.

Thanks to all marshals, volunteers, cake bakers and anyone else who helped make the day a success.

Lynn MTB Club’s next event at Shouldham Warren will be on March 1, the first Mud, Sweat and Gears XC race of their 2015 series. The afternoon races are aimed at the more seasoned racer as British Cycling National Ranking Points are up for grabs.

There are also categories for beginners in the morning; plus GoRide coaching and racing for the youngsters in the morning.

Results, ladies: 3rd Emily Quantrill, 4th Lorraine Collins, 6th Susan Mathews. The under 12s: 6th Thomas Mathews, 7th Ella Mathews, 9th Joe Allen. Men: 4th James Murphy, 8th Russell Rout, 9th Dom Clark, 10th Paul Quantrill, 11th Paul Asplin, 17th Mike Cubitt, 18th Linley Gale, 27th Kevin Beales, 29th Mark Hollingworth, 30th Jonny Sayer, 41st Adrian Murray, 45th Jason Hunter, Rob Smithers (retired).