Ryston Runner Stanforth takes first Grand Prix win

Have your say

It was an off-road weekend for Ryston Runners in competitive mode at the weekend.

Sunday saw more domestic competition as athletes lined up for the third race in the Ryston Grand Prix Series, where they were, as has become traditional, treated to a gift from Santa after crossing the finish line.

XC'Rys Runners

XC'Rys Runners

Over half the club’s members were involved in one way or other, with some 70 racing and many more helping with marshalling, course marking, doing entries and results, and all the other jobs that make this popular event possible.

The youngsters turned out again and acquitted themselves admirably, with Charlie Wakefield and Bailey Took repeating their County Championships positions with a one-two in the U13 B, Kate Willis dominating the U13G, and Annie Rooks second in the U17G.

Kit Howlett took second in the U11B and Ella Matthews was third in the U9G races.

Callum Stanforth had his first-ever GP win in the Senior Men’s race, with clubmate Chris Balmer second, a double repeated in the W55 category by Maureen Wolfe (1) and Jill Davis (2). However, both these age groups were bested, in terms of trophy hunting, by the Ruston M45 contenders who cleaned up their category with Nic Bensley winning by two minutes over Martin Sheldrick and then the resurgent Stewart Robins.

Other Ryston category winners were Malcolm Tuff, returning strongly after an injury lay off, in the M50s and Paul Firmage, M60. Heather Beattie and Lorena Latisaite were second and third in the Senior Women’s race; Susan Matthews (W35), Pauline Drewery (W45), and Sarah Taylor (W50) placed second in their categories, with Wendy Fisher third in the W50.

Other Ryston members featuring in results:

U9B: 15 Charlie Isbill. U11B: 5 Harry Wakefield; 8 Liam Clare; 12 Oliver Davis. U15B: 4 Brandon Tarsey. SM: 4 Robert Simmonds; 6 Andrew Simmonds; 7 Justin Kinsey; 9 Gareth Hunt; 11 Simon Levy; 12 Michael Howlett; 14 Darren Smith; 19 Andrew Barrett.

M40: 4 Shaun Mann; 6 Richard Dickson; 8 Mark Doughty. M45: 7 David Marston; 8 Andy Smith; 10 Jeremy Navrady; 11 Paul Tarsey; 12 Stuart Howlett. M50: 5 Tony Savage; 6 Barry Smith; 8 David Lane; 9 Andy Harrod; 10 Simon Tarling. M55: 4 Chris Chapman; 5 Christopher Milnes; 6 Keith Morris; 7 Martin Blackburn. M60: 6 Jeff Reed (70).

U11G: 9 Gabriele Kersyte; 10 Lily Teasdale; 13 Matilda Loram; 17 Sophie-Jane Hearn; 18 Gendreta Stasiunaite. U13G: 4 Rosie Booth; 5 Meg Willis; 6 Mai Loram; 7 Izzy Loram; 8 Mia Moore; 12 Saffron Teasdale; 13 Poppy Plant. U15G: 4 Gabrielle Clare.

W40: 8 Sophie Tarsey. W50: 6 Sue Tuff; 7 Sue Smith. W55: 4 Gill Hart (60); 5 Helen Sewell (70).