Ryston Runners enter eight teams in Hereward Relay

editorial image
Have your say

The Hereward Relay, organised by March AC, and the course of which goes on roads, trails and riverbanks from Peterborough Cathedral to Ely Cathedral, featured eight Ryston Runners teams.

The A team were placed second overall, led off, as is customary, by James O’Neill.

O’Neill handed over to converted footballer Callum Stanforth who stormed through his stage to win it outright, before Warren Armstrong made his mark on Stage 3, posting the fastest time by a M40.

Robert Simmonds, on the anchor leg, just couldn’t hold off the Cambridge and Coleridge athlete in the final stage, but it was still a creditable and satisfying performance by the whole team.

Overall Ryston team placings (110 teams took part):

Ryston A (second overall): O’Neill, Stanforth, Armstrong, Simmonds. Ryston B (12th): Adam Matthews, Pete Johnson, Andy Smith, Phil Thompson.

Ryston C (20th): Phil Twite, Simon Levy, Marcus Hawkins, Will Honeybone.

Ryston F (36th): Kelly De Gol, Amy Chapman, Mel Reed, Lesley Robins.

Ryston D (44th): Mick Ennis, Michael Howlett, Kevin Howlett, Darren Smith.

Ryston E (66th): Sarah Taylor, Barry Smith, Martin Hammond, Jeremy Navrady.

Ryston G (78th): Karen Wood, Pauline Drewery, Maureen Wolfe, Julia Norman.

Ryston H (88th): Sue Smith, Justin Kinsey, David Lane, Dave Marston.